Oh Hey There. Remember me?

I’m not going to apologize for my absence. Life happens and boring riding life isn’t fun to write about or read about. There are lots of things going on though.

IMG_2059

I’m so far behind on blog reading I need to commit some serious amounts of time to catching up on everyone’s goings on. I’ve seen things pop on FB and IG that have made me excited for all of your adventures.

Work has been ridiculously busy. I’m working on a new project and have something else in the works too. Without giving to much away, because jinxes, I could use some serious finger crossing and happy thoughts. Hopefully, by the end of this week I’ll be able to share more.

IMG_2056

On the home front, things have been busy there too. Still no wedding plans… does that make me a reluctant bride? I’m thinking maybe yes. Instead we’ve been focusing on getting the condo ready to sell. I had no idea that 600+ sq feet could hold so much crap. We’ve filled up my mom’s garage with boxes and started to touch up some of the paint. I’m hoping we can list by the end of the month. And then we’ll buy a house closer Tucker (Yay).

IMG_2058

Tucker has continued to be his awesome self. As of 2 days ago he was still abnormally forward (in a good way) during our rides. I expect that will change though as R has started him on 24hr turnout. We’re still loving our barn even though it is a bit lonely. We still haven’t really been out on the trails. I did find the one that opens onto the property though. I took him a little ways in, he was good but jumpy, so I didn’t push it to far. Hopefully my schedule will match up with R’s soon and she can go out with us.

IMG_2074

I’ve continued to jump him around every now and then. It’s been years since I’ve done that without a coach around. Thank goodness for good foundations. If I F up I have no problem reminding myself what I should be doing and how to fix it. Shortening my stirrups is super strange. Dressage length has become the new norm.

The dressage lessons with M have continued. I think I’ve had 2 more since the last one I wrote about. M says really great things that give me those a-ha moments. We continue to do basically the same stuff. W/T/C and transitions focusing on forward, bend and keeping him round and on the bit. M says we could do this for months until Tuck fully buys in and is able to hold the position himself. There’s no point in moving on until he’s got the basics down pat. Everything else will build off of what we’re working on.

IMG_2060

I’ve currently got a dressage saddle on trial from Bakers. All I know is that it’s a Passier. No idea what model it is. I’m having a huge problem finding a saddle. Emphasis on the huge. Huge ass that is. I’ve got my fingers crossed that it works (first ride in it will be tomorrow) but I’m not very hopeful. It just doesn’t seem right. I do have a couple more options to try though. A friend of a friend has a Seventeen Saddlery saddle for sale… has anyone heard of that make? Also, I can’t get that M. Toulouse that I sat in at Stagecoach West out of my brain. I’ve found a used one at another tack store so I might go check that out.

I guess that’s it for now. I’ll try to not disappear for so long.

This entry was posted in Regularly Scheduled Program and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Oh Hey There. Remember me?

  1. You have lots of great things going on! Glad rides on Tucker have been good 🙂

    Like

  2. L. Williams says:

    I’m always afraid of jinxing myself, I hope that things continue moving along well and we can hear about the exciting things soon!

    Like

  3. emma says:

    glad to hear things are going well – tho i’m not at all jealous of the packing / moving / condo selling part haha. super intrigued about your surprise tho, all fingers and toes are crossed!!

    Like

  4. Courtney says:

    Sounds like there’s a lot of excitingness going on! I’m sending good thoughts your way!

    Like

  5. Cathryn says:

    Welcome back 🙂

    Like

  6. Rocking E Cowgirl says:

    I kinda feel like a lot of us haven’t blogged as much lately. Summer can be busy. In a good way. Sounds like everything is going well, though! I’m curious about wedding details!!

    Like

  7. KateRose says:

    Welcome back! Fingers crossed for the dressage saddle 🙂

    Like

  8. Saddle shopping! Ug. I have to say I wish I could have Knight on turnout. That pasture looks amazing and 24/7. Tucker is #blessed! LOL! Keep us posted on all the newsy news.

    Like

  9. relstaff says:

    I totally feel you, I disappeared for a while there too! But summer does tend to get busy. Fingers crossed for whatever you need!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

