Busy Weekend ~ Move and 1st Gotcha Day

Well we moved. This is pretty much what Tucker looks and sounds like at the moment:


Other than that things went/are going pretty well. 

I did feel really guilty and like maybe I made a huge mistake after I left the new barn on Saturday. I did not expect quite that level of drama from him. He’s usually such a chill guy. And considering my past experiences with moving my first horse, the crazy thoroughbred, who gave me ZERO drama… Tucker shocked me with his reaction.

He is settling in slowly. He only screamed once or twice during our ride last night but a lot in the barn (see video evidence above). I feel less guilty. And the more time I spend up there the more things I find out about our new home and the more I love it. He’ll learn to love it too. I mean what’s not to love!

Saturday:

IMG_1929

He got to nap while I packed.

I got up to the barn early so that I could finish packing up my stuff and clean him up “a bit”. A bit turned into a lot. I clipped his legs the previous weekend and intended to just clean up his face a bit… a 5 minute clip turned into the a full body clip. Ugh! I did not realize how fuzzy he had gotten. I’m pretty sure I only clipped him a month ago. WTF Tuck!?!?! This was by far the fastest clip I’ve ever done. I finished just in time to bubble wrap him and give him a quick second in his stall before the trailer showed up.

When the trailer pulled in I realized it was a step up (two horse slant load). To my knowledge he’d never loaded on a step up before. I just kept thinking calm thoughts about how my horse is the best horse in the world, he don’t care! And he didn’t. He loaded like he’d been doing it his whole life and promptly tucked into the hay. That’s my boy! Trailerer/Trainer M opened the windows behind him, I waved bye to a few of the girls and we were off.

IMG_1933

A short 15-20 minute drive later we pulled into the driveway of the new barn. M hopped out of her truck and said he was really good, she didn’t hear anything out of him. We opened up the door and realized that she had parked so that a branch was sticking in the window and poking him in the bum. Oops!

He panicked a smidge backing off the trailer. If he’s ever on a step up again I’ll make sure to turn him so he can come off front first. This marked the end of calm Tucker. He may have been freaking the f**k out but he’s never looked more majestic. Head high, so alert and animated. The down side was the screaming. Holy crap does he ever have a set of lungs on him.

I quickly stripped him down and BO R had me throw him outside. Yay for all day turnout! He’s out by himself (but with horses on either side) until R gets to know him a little better. I loaded everything into my “locker” that I could and then went to make sure he was settling in.

He was eating and screaming and kicking up his heels a bit. So I grabbed him to take him on a tour of the property. He was on edge but not enough to not stop and eat at every patch of grass. I threw him on a lunge for a bit and let him run off some energy and then threw him back out side.

Sunday:

Happy 1st gotcha day Tuck! I can’t believe he’s been mine for a whole year.

He was being brought in when we pulled into the driveway. Uh oh! I immediately thought that he was causing problems but R assured me he’s ok. She was just worried he wasn’t warm enough and was putting another blanket on him. I could have fainted. Already the level of care is amazing!

She also told me that he was pawing at his door so she’s switching his stall until her husband T can build a bar into his stall. Wait what? It wasn’t until last night that I understood what she was talking about. Check this out:

I tacked up the screaming giraffe and threw him on the lunge again. Thankfully there was way less bucking and no more rearing. I hopped on with the expectation of some Tucker antics. But I didn’t even get a spook. Yay! He felt super fancy with his very forward rhythm (no spurs required).

Monday:

He’s still a screaming giraffe. He did seem a bit more settled though. I chose to walk him in hand around the arena and then hop on without lunging. He was a little tense and forward but I was happy I put spurs on. He quickly turned slug like. After a bit of W/T/C I took him outside and went into the outdoor ring where he had a hard look at some jumps on the outside of the ring and then we popped over a couple jumps.

Enough words. Picture tour:

The barn and arena.

IMG_1985

and John in our car

Indoor arena and view of the indoor from the heated viewing room. The windows are actually one way glass so they act as mirrors. So cool!

Outdoor ring.

IMG_1968

Outdoor stuff.

Laundry (not pictured an indoor bathroom) and grooming stall (there’s also an indoor wash stall with warm water).

Tucker in his stall… eating of course.

IMG_1972

How cool is this place?!?!

This entry was posted in Stable and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Busy Weekend ~ Move and 1st Gotcha Day

  1. Courtney says:

    That is such a nice place!! I’m sure you will be very happy there! With those one way mirrors, imagine how many staring matches you can get into, and the other person won’t even know!

    Tucker is seriously so cute! I’m sure he screams aren’t as funny in person, but I thought they were really cute and funny.

    And happy 1 year anniversary!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Erin says:

      Thanks!
      Lol! I like the ‘mirrors’ but find it a little creepy someone could be watching and I have no clue.
      Good thing he’s cute!!

      Like

  2. wow what a gorgeous place!!! I’m so jealous!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Shauna says:

    That is a beautiful farm! I’m sure Tucker will settle in, given time. I’m always surprised how long it takes Boca to get used to a new farm. Usually at least 30 days. Happy 1st gotcha day! That is exciting – I didn’t realize you’d only had him one year!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Cathryn says:

    Happy Gotcha Day Tucker 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. L. Williams says:

    The barn looks very cool! Glad you guys made it there safely and I hope he settles in more and more as the days progress.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Carly says:

    Beautiful place! I’m sure Tucker will settle down and appreciate his new digs soon!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Grace C says:

    Happy Gotcha day to you both ❤ The new place looks fantastic, I wish I had someplace like that close to me- Everything reasonably priced is over 45-50 minutes from where I work/live ):

    Liked by 1 person

    • Erin says:

      Thank you!
      This place is actually farther away than or old barn. My commute to the barn is at least 45 min from work and 50min to an hour from home (assuming there’s minimal traffic). Hopefully we’ll be moving closer though.

      Like

  8. carey says:

    Looks great! He’ll be all quiet and settled in no time!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Karen M says:

    The new place is gorgeous! I want to go there.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Karley says:

    Henry screamed and screamed when I brought him to the barn my trainers at- now at home he only screams when we get home to say hi to his buddies. But the screaming is ear piercing!!! Lol

    The new place sounds awesome!! Heated viewing room- swoon!! And explain the bar on his stall? It looks to high in the pic to stop pawing…

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Emma says:

    Oooh it’s lovely!! I actually kinda adore the tack cupboards haha. Hope Tuck settles in quickly!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Tracy - Fly On Over says:

    The new place looks awesome!

    Like

Leave a Reply

