A Blog Post about Everything and Nothing

I was writing something else but it got away from me a little bit. So I’m setting that aside for now and giving you this gem. It’s mash up time!

IMG_1297

Quick update:

I’ve continued to use common sense horse riding and therefore Tucker has continued to be his perfect self. Yay!

IMG_1343

I still suck at selfies!

My jump lesson on Tuesday was kinda shit. Shortly after my fall coach G told me to raise my stirrups a hole. But I couldn’t do it at the time. It caused too much pain. On Tuesday he commented that I was back to being too much in the back of the tack. I was feeling stiff but to regress that much is frustrating. So I shortened my stirrups. I was finally in a place pain wise that I thought I could do it. What I wasn’t expecting was to feel the weakness again. It seems as though the long stirrup length acted as a crutch. Take that away and it feels like the injury just happened yesterday and not months ago. Ugh! I have to assume I’ll get used to it and strengthen the new position. Fingers crossed it doesn’t take long.

IMG_1421

In more exciting news only 9 more sleeps until John and I head down to Florida. WEF here we come! So excited!!!

Product review:

One of the prize that I won for 2pointober was some products from The Herbal Horse. I chose a lime coconut lip balm and a jar of the Fungus Among Us.

I’m not sure about the lip balm. When I roll it over my lips the stick itself feels gritty and when it’s on it feels a little greasy to me. I’m still using it. I think that it does work to keep my lips moist. It just isn’t my favourite lip balm.

On the other hand I am 100% sold on the Fungus Among Us. If I could be more than 100% I would be. You see a month ago almost to the day I found a spot on my back. Specifically a circular patch. I can’t believe I’m sharing this. So gross! I self-diagnosed it as ringworm. I’ve never had it myself but I did go to school for vet meds. So I am familiar with the little fungal nasties.

IMG_1280

Conveniently a week earlier I got my jar of Fungus Among Us. So naturally instead of going to the doctor I also self-treated. I wasn’t sure that it would work. I read on the internet that “home remedies won’t work”. Well I laugh in your face internet because it did. So suck it!

As for using it on Tucker. I’m not sure if the flakiness on his hocks is/was fungus. I’m starting to suspect that it’s from laying down in his stall and not having sufficient bedding. Regardless I continue to use it on him after washing the area with a wet cloth. Whether it’s actually helping with a fungal infection or just helping to protect the area from irritation I’m not sure. It does seem to be a lot better than it was though.

IMG_1293

“I has no fungus”

I will definitely be buying more and perhaps trying out other The Herbal Horse products.

A short PSA or book(s) review:

I found a new to me author and Blogger and she’s hilarious. Jenny Lawson is her name. So far she’s written 2 books Let’s Pretend This Never Happened” and “Furiously Happy”. I accidentally started with the second of the two and loved it so much I went back and bought the first. I found the second one funnier but that may just be because I read them out of order.

furiously happy

Allow me to set the scene of just how funny: you’re on a packed subway with your nose buried in a book. When you literally LOL and don’t give to shits who hears you or what strange looks you’re getting because you’re right in the middle of reading about explosive diarrhea and cats that may or may not be pretending to be burglars. Do yourself a favour and read the books. If you like funny you won’t regret it!

Happy Friday!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to A Blog Post about Everything and Nothing

  1. L. Williams says:

    haha its okay, one time I caught ringworm from Carlos. We both were using tinactin to get rid of it, we both got better but I developed an allergy. I do have some seasonal athlete’s foot between my pinky toe and ring toe and the fungus among us works great on it.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. KateRose says:

    Jenny Lawson sounds awesome, will put her books on my “to read” list. I think Fungus Among Us is destined to be amazing….based on the awesome name haha 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. emma says:

    how frustrating that you’re still dealing with that injury… i hope you start feeling better and stronger SOON!! also the herbal horse’s heal quick is great stuff too 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Carly says:

    My old barn gave me her first book to read when it came out and I LOVED it. Still need to get around to reading her second one!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. So pumped to live vicariously through you at WEF

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Karley says:

    I got WEF, jealous!!!! Take meeeee!!

    🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Courtney says:

    WEF?! Awesome!!! The raccoon on the book is a pretty accurate example of how happy I am for you.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

