Tucker the Superstar

Why is the weekend over already?!?! I am less than excited about you Monday!

IMG_1375

The best place to be!

My mom and sister have gone on a cruise so I’ve moved to my mom’s this week to take care my cat. Yes MY cat. He doesn’t live with me because John is allergic. Sad!

One of the best parts about staying at her place is all the extra space. Extra space means room for company. Which means pajama party with my best friend A. This time she brought her 6 year old daughter along. So cute!

Our day consisted of colouring, sushi, acquiring all the necessary snacks, pizza, movies and of course a visit to see the Tucker. The munchkin wanted to have a pillow fight but A and I vetoed that.

IMG_1376

Saturday night was a little chilly but I’m pretty sure that spending time at the barn was the highlight of the weekend for the munchkin. Tucker did not disappoint. He was on his best behaviour (mostly). The munchkin helped me brush and pick out feet. We learned how to safely be around horses.

We tacked up, found a helmet that fit her tiny little head and headed to the arena. I turned Tuck loose to get any silliness out. But he didn’t have much in him. He just walked around and then refused to let me catch him. So I grabbed a lunge whip and made him work at the trot for a bit. Silly boy!

I got her on and then rolled my stirrups three times before they were an acceptable length. I showed her how to hold the reins, told her to sit up tall and squeeze and we were off. We started out pony ride style with me leading. I think she was bounced around a bit by Tucks big, forward walk. But she loved it.

IMG_1373

The first thing she learned was how to stop. Pull back and say whoa. After she got that down pat I let her trot a bit. With me still leading of course. I was actually quite surprised that Tucker was so agreeable to this. I thought for sure I’d struggle to get him to trot. But he was more than willing. I instructed her to hold her hands low and keep them still and to stretch up tall. Be the tallest rider you can be. I think the kid is a natural. I had to keep reminding her to sit tall and keep her hands down but she seemed to have a fairly natural seat.

After that I taught her how to steer. I let go of the reins and let her figure it out as I directed her to go from one letter to the next. We did a little bit more trotting and then a couple other boarder came in so we gave the arena to them.

IMG_1377

We untacked. Then the munchkin put a treat in his bucket and we tucked him in for the night. She called Tucker her horse…I may have created a monster.

This entry was posted in Regularly Scheduled Program and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Tucker the Superstar

  1. Stephanie says:

    Aww, super cute! Don’t you love it when they’re surprisingly good for little people/greenies?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Karen M says:

    Recruiting another rider! Yes! What a fun weekend.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. emma says:

    d’awwww what a good boy Tucker! looks like she’s having fun too 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: The Story So Far ~ One Year of Blogging! | The Story So Far

Leave a Reply

