And Just Like That It Happened

Months ago I participated in a blog hop that asked about your heart horse. At the time I didn’t think that I had ever ridden or owned a horse that I could call my heart horse.

IMG_0027

 

Tucker in particular I labeled as the ‘horse that I need’ with the potential to grow into something more. I didn’t know how. I really didn’t see it happening. I certainly didn’t really understand what heart horse even meant.

IMG_0091

I love horses. But I love lots of things. I couldn’t see how one horse in particular would stand above the rest. Not that they are interchangeable. I just didn’t get it.

And then like the Grinch my heart grew 3 sizes. At least that’s the best way I can describe the change… the feeling. Yes I do realize how silly this sounds considering my last post was about how much of a jerk he’s been. And yes it’s true I may have as recently as this past weekend started a #myhorseisinherentlyanasshole club with Carly from Poor Woman Showing. But it’s true.

IMG_5518

Something happened or changed. Or maybe I just opened my damn eyes. I’m not really sure.

One day last week we had the arena to ourselves for a bit. Tucker had just had two days off. I knew he wouldn’t be a crazy. It is Tucker after all #draftcrossbonuses. But I tied up the reins and stirrups and let him loose.

IMG_0031

Normally he just stands there and looks at you wondering if you seriously expect him to move. This time however he happily trotted off and then continued to trot around the arena without much coaxing. Every now and then he’d take a few canter steps or change direction. I had no goal in mind. I just wanted him to have a chance to stretch out and do what he wanted.

I was mostly just standing in the middle of the ring waiting for him to remember he’s not a fan of energy expulsion. And then it happened. He stopped and faced me with a jump between us. There was something about him that screamed play with me. So I did. I deked back and forth and then cut around the jump. And he was off. Cantering away and kicking up his heels. We continued to play like that for a good 5-10 minutes. Every now and then he’d stop for a scratch and then continue on. It was fun.

IMG_1176

I’m not sure if that day in the arena is what did it or if a bunch of things all added up. I see him different now. I think our relationship is different now. I get it. He’s my heart horse.

This entry was posted in Musings and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to And Just Like That It Happened

  1. kaitlyndzn says:

    That sounds wonderfully fun and a really cool moment of connecting with your horse 🙂 Not all heart horses are instant “love at first sight” and take some time to grow on us…nothing wrong with that 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  2. emma says:

    aw this is so sweet! the partnership with my mare was a slow boil too (we actually somewhat actively disliked each other for the first few months). what a cool feeling to look at that horse and thing ‘well he may be an inherent asshole but he is *my* inherent asshole’ ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • Erin says:

      Haha. I kinda didn’t like Tucker very much at the start either. It makes me wonder what things in life I’ve missed out on by saying no and not giving things a chance.

      Like

  3. Carly says:

    Sometimes they just sneak into your hearts. Love it!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Jackie V says:

    I love that moment. And when they become your buddy, it makes even the crappy rides ok, because you can hop off all mad and look at those eyes and just melt

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Karley says:

    Ahhhhh he snuck on in 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  6. T says:

    Love it, my little mare did the same thing, the original plan was to have a fun project and sell her but I just can’t do it and am selling my ‘dream’ horse instead…they really are so sneaky lol

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Pingback: The Story So Far ~ One Year of Blogging! | The Story So Far

Leave a Reply

