TRM Blog Hop – 25 Questions

Thanks TRM for the blog hop! I pretty much suck right now and have been neglecting the blog. Sorry! Life is just crazy busy. I’m at that point in the term where I just want to give up and drop out. It happens every term. Using my vacation time for an actual vacation instead of school is way more appealing and no one likes writing 20 page papers. Get out your tiny violins!

Because I have no new Tucker media please enjoy some randomness from the Royal Winter Fair

Because I have no new Tucker media please enjoy some randomness from the Royal Winter Fair

On with the hop…

1. Mares or Geldings? Why?
This is hard. I love mares when they aren’t to marish. A mare with a good personality would be my pick every time. Gelding were always kind of boring to me. But then I met Tucker. So now I love geldings with fun personality. Bonus points for not making want to kill them on a daily basis.

2. Green-broke or Fully Broke?
My crazy nerves and anxiety would point towards fully broke BUT I like to do some training. So somewhere in the middle of the two would be ideal for me.

Green Meadows class

Green Meadows class

3. Would you own a “hotter” breed (ie. Arabian, Trakhener, etc).
Do thoroughbreds count? But then again she was the one that gave me the crazy nerves and anxiety. So I’m not saying no but I don’t think I’d go out actively looking for a certain breed.

4. What was your “dream horse” growing up?
A grey arab… I know better now. Those are so not my kind of horse. And soooo much no to grey!

5. What kind of bit(s) do you use and why?
I like the myler level 1 bits. They seem to fit Tucker’s mouth the best and he goes well in them.

6. Helmets or no helmets?
Can you be more than 100% pro helmets? All the helmets all the time!

giant (scary) vegetables

giant (scary) vegetables

7. Favorite horse color?
Bay. It’s so much easier to hide the poop stains!
I love greys but not to own. I just think that they are really pretty.

8. Least favorite horse color?
Palomino, grey, white. Basically any colour that you have to use so much shampoo you contemplate taking out stocks.

White cow problems!

White cow problems!

9. Dressage or Jumping?
Both. Although I’ve never tried real dressage. I love to ride on the flat. Jumping give me anxiety but for some reason I can’t stop so I must love jumping too.

10. How many years have you been riding?
23 years with couple breaks squeezed in there.

11. Spurs/whip or no spurs/whip?
I ride with both. Tucker needs reminding that leg means go forward. Actually he sometimes needs reminding that leg means move period. He can be such a brat!

12. Your first fall?
I do not remember but it was probably over a jump, sliding down a pony neck when I decided to jump without said pony.

13. When was the last time you rode and what did you do?
Saturday (ugh, back to that being stupid busy thing). I rode on the flat and stayed on a 20-30 meter circle the whole ride. We worked on bending, counter bending and changing the bend. I like to work on stuff the supples up my big rolly polly draft x.IMG_1004

14. Most expensive piece of tack you own?
My childeric saddle. LOVE!

15. How old were you when you started riding?
I started riding soon after my 10th birthday.

16. Leather or Nylon halters?
I’ve always loved the look of leather. My old horse used to always wear a leather halter. Tucker has been wearing a nylon halter because he was out with the herd. Halter tag would have cost me to much in leather. Now that he’s out by himself I may switch.

17. Leather or Synthetic saddles?
Leather!!!!

Cow show

Cow show

18. What “grip” of reins do you like?
Laced reins are my favourite.

19. English or Western?
I’m not a fan of western. English all the way!

20. How many horses do you currently own/lease?
Just the one.

21. Do you board your horse? Self-care/full board? Home board?
I board my horse. I hope to one day have a small property that I can keep my horse(s) on. I may have to win a lottery first though.

22. Have you ever had to put down a horse that you loved?
Thankfully no. My old horse was put down but she wasn’t mine at the time and I wasn’t involved in the process.

Hunter derby course walk.

Hunter derby course walk.

23. How many saddle pads do you have?
I’m not big into saddle pads. I want to be but I can’t justify spending the money on them. Some of those prices seem ridiculous for what amounts to a small piece of material and some thread.
I have 3 baby pads, 1 greenhawk brand memory foam pad, 2 older shaped pads retired from showing, 1 new white shaped pad for showing, a gel pad that I had for my old horse and a quarter sheet that I just picked up at the greenhawk sale. Boring!

24. Slant-load trailer or straight haul?
I do not own a trailer. I don’t think I have a preference. As long as it’s safe and my horse is comfortable that’s all that matters.IMG_0993

25. Why do you ride?
Because not riding is awful! I tried it. I do not recommend it. Riding makes me healthier both mentally and physically. I love working with and building a relationship with my horse.

I promise I will come back soon and start catching up on all your blogs and commenting again.

This entry was posted in Blog Hop and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to TRM Blog Hop – 25 Questions

  1. emma says:

    lol i love that dressed-up sheep! nice answers too – esp to #25. i also do not recommend not riding 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Cathryn says:

    Thank you for participating – I’ll add you in the links 🙂

    And yes – that carrot is really scary!! HAhah

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Courtney says:

    Interesting answers! I like this blog hop.
    That’s a really wonky vegetable. I don’t understand it!! The sheep is super cute though!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. L. Williams says:

    Thanks for sharing all those great pics, love the one in the sheep in the blanket! Also agree, bay is the best for hiding poop stains

    Liked by 1 person

    • Erin says:

      Wish we took our good camera. I was only able to snap a fee with my phone. Bays are the best! I love that I can get away without bathing and just do a really good groom.

      Like

  5. Karley says:

    I tried not riding too- it sucks.

    Like

  6. Pingback: The Story So Far ~ One Year of Blogging! | The Story So Far

Leave a Reply

