Making Adjustments 2.0

Back in June I posted about Tucker’s first chiropractor appointment and how happy I was with it. Tuck had been having problems with his right SI joint. Thankfully nothing to do with saddle fit.

IMG_5788

The before and after was like night and day. One day he’s taking funky steps and the next it was smooth sailing. Best money ever spent.

Now it’s my turn. As you may or may not know Tucker and I took a tumble just over two weeks ago. As a typical equestrian I tried to walk it off. I figured a bit of time was all I needed. NBD.

However, as I’ve stated before, I don’t bounce like I used to. Most of the pain went away but I was still having issues with my hips. Specifically when riding on a left rein or when asking for lead changes. Not cool.

IMG_5727

When I was filling out the paperwork at the clinic there was a question about how it effects your daily work/sleep/normal life. I didn’t tick any of those things. I don’t care about any of those things. Let’s be real. The only reason why I’m not just slapping some liniment on and giving it a bit more time is because it’s effecting my riding.

Which is exactly what I told Dr B. I think the good doctor might have been a bit perplexed by me.

Dr. B: Did you get it looked at or x-rayed?
Me: Are you nuts? Of course not. I could get up so I got back on.

Dr. B: You waited more than 2 weeks to come in?
Me: I’m an equestrian. I tried to walk it off and give it time to heal itself.

Dr. B: Having this amount of discomfort after 2 weeks is not normal.
Me: NBD.

Dr. B: It’ll probably feel worse before it feels better.
Me: Whatever, do what you got to do.

As it turns out Tucker and I now have the same issue. Dr. B says that my SI joint is all out of whack. I wonder if I can add Tucker to my benefits plan as a dependant.

So I got twisted into a pretzel and partook in a serious trust exercise with a man that I’d known for less than an hour. Seriously. You want me to trust you not to drop my ass off the table that you’re currently rolling me to the edge of. He did say he’d never dropped a person yet. I say there’s always a first time for everything. Luckily I wasn’t the first.IMG_5722

The adjustment itself was slightly uncomfortable. I wouldn’t say that it hurt when he pushed his whole body down on my hip, it was just kind of a strange feeling. He said there was a huge crack. I didn’t hear it though.

When I left the clinic I felt pretty good. I was hopeful that I’d be one of the few that would have instant relief. But that didn’t happen. Quite quickly I got sore and riding was harder. Ugh. Trust the process. Things still need to get back to where they should be. It’ll get better.

What’s your chiropractic experience (horse or human)?

This entry was posted in Chiropractor and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Making Adjustments 2.0

  1. Ellie sees one around every 8 weeks and I LOVE the person that we use! I went to the human version for some lower back pain a number of years ago but it didn’t really seems to help- I finally went to PT and the issue was muscle related.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Erin says:

      I want to get Tucker done again. I think it really helps them. I’m going to try it again before I decide if it’ll help me or not. I think my issue might be at least partly muscle too.

      Like

  2. Jackie V says:

    I loooooove the chiro! I have super whacked out hips,which obviously impacts how I ride but also causes a pretty consistent dull ache in my lower back. When I leave the chiro I feel like a new woman!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. emma says:

    sorry you’re still dealing with so much pain and discomfort – hopefully the chiro’s magic sorts you out pronto! i like to keep my mare on a regular schedule, but have never gotten any work done on myself personally. maybe one day?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Erin says:

      I’m starting to wonder if maybe I was already out of whack and the fall was the straw that broke the camels back sorta speak. I don’t have much positive thoughts about chiro yet. But it worked for Tuck so hopefully it works for me.

      Like

  4. L. Williams says:

    Carlos got one once, I am still become skeptical of the whole industry (people +)

    Liked by 1 person

    • Erin says:

      I kind of feel the same. I saw such a huge difference in Tucker though so I’m willing to give it a shot. I just wonder if they 100% know what they are moving around when they make an adjustment.

      Like

  5. carey says:

    Cosmo is seeing his chiro today. His least visit did wonders for his hind end.

    I had a bad fall on cement a couple years ago that apparently knocked my hip out a bit. I waited a few weeks to have it check out, thought it was just a bad bruise, but it did hurt most when I rode. One of the parents of my lesson students offered chiro services for trade. I felt a difference as soon as I got into my car after my session.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Bette says:

    Chiropractic school is a 4 year extensive program, or at least it is in the states. There are some lesser chiro certifications for animals that some vets will take to be certified chiropractors. I’m sure there are some chiropractors that are better than others just like there are some doctors/vets that I would trust over others even though they all graduated with a degree. So I think you’re fairly safe with your chiro at least knowing what bones he’s moving around 😉

    I am a big believer in all types of body work when I get hurt. I like acupuncture to help my muscles and balance everything and then a chiro to put things back in place. I think doing multiple things helps you heal faster bc they compliment each other and make it last longer between sessions. I also keep Chimi on s regular schedule since he had some major pain issues when I first got him and I want to keep him as comfortable as possible!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Erin says:

      Yes the schooling up here for chiropractors is extensive. You don’t get to call yourself a doctor for nothing. lol. I trust that he knows what bone is what and where it should be. What I wonder is if the pressure applied is just a fraction of an inch off does it still move the right thing to the right place. Really I just worry to much and I should calm the F down. Trust the process! Glad you are able to keep Chimi pain free!

      Like

  7. Courtney says:

    I hope it works out for you! I have never used any kind of chiropractor, but I know some people swear by them. I think I would also be scared of coming too close to the end of the table haha

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Karen M says:

    It seems to work so well for horses (works really well for Eli) but I can’t bring myself to see one, even though multiple people have told me how well it works. Maybe one day.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Pingback: The Story So Far ~ One Year of Blogging! | The Story So Far

Leave a Reply

