An Update On All The Things – Ramblings

Where did the weekend go?!?! Please enjoy my Monday ramblings.

IMG_5819

Can someone please tell me why people try to sell their horses with pictures of them standing on the horses back? My FB news feed is filled with sales ads featuring those kinds of pictures. Standing on the horse while riding is not something I’ve ever seen or been tempted to try. Unless you’re selling a Cirque Cavalia horse I don’t see the point. Am I missing something?

I body clipped Tucker. IT WAS NOT A FUN TIME!!! Previously I’ve only clipped his legs and face. He used to be really good for that.

He agrees with me.

He agrees with me.

However, the last couple times he’s decided that trying to eat the clippers while I’m trying to clip his face is much fun. And now apparently we can’t keep our feet on the ground while I’m clipping his legs.

4+ hours it took me to clip. My boy has serious rolls. I don’t think I got a single long run of the clippers. And then there are all of his whorls. WTF. I had to keep changing the direction I was clipping. His coat grows so randomly all over the place it’s ridiculous. On the positive: I’m done clipping, he’s really good about standing while I clip his body, and he looks really good considering it’s my first full clip.IMG_0903

I had a chat with G about the turnout situation. I didn’t realize he felt this way but he’d prefer to see all the boarder horses on individual turnout. He says that it’s much easier to manage them in regards to food intake and energy levels. There’s also less chance of injury and damage. So we’ve agreed to try it for the winter.

Completely unrelated ramblings: I think that I have Misophonia. I had a girl sitting next to me in class the other day smacking her gum for most of the lecture. What is with people chewing with their mouths open and/or chewing their gum like they have cows in their ancestry?!?! Also on that same day I had a woman sitting next to me on the subway reading to herself under her breath. It was a constant hum. The noises are going to drive me nuts! I’m only kinda joking. Anyone else bothered by certain noises?

I’m turning into one of those crazy horse moms. After my fall I started over analyzing the cause. Tucker tripped 3 rides in a row. Last Sunday he tripped out in the field when we were trotting downhill (I thought we were going down), he tripped in our lesson while we were cantering mid-course and then the next night he tripped during a downward transition from canter to trot (he did go down and I fell). I’m panicking that there’s something seriously wrong. Update from when I wrote this: I got his feet done on Thursday no tripping Saturday or Sunday. So Yay.

It took 3 days after my fall for a bruise to appear. Strange! I’m still in much pain from falling off. Booo! I had to stop my lesson early on Sunday. My hips and right knee are a mess. Lead changes were not a fun time. Going to the left not a fun time. Healing may take a little more work than just waiting it out. I’m interested in peoples thoughts on physio vs massage vs chiropractor. Or perhaps doing all three???

Hope you all had a good weekend!

This entry was posted in All the Things and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to An Update On All The Things – Ramblings

  1. Liz Stronach says:

    Awesome clip job! You’ll have to teach me your ways, I’m too scared to do it on my own. Sorry to hear you’re not completely recovered from your fall 😦

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Bette says:

    Depending all the fall I like to do any and all things! After my last fall I couldn’t ride for two weeks bc I was so hurt- acupuncture and massage helped my muscles relax and I keep meaning to go to a chiropractor to put my bones back in place 🙂 I hate not being able to bounce back like I use too!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Erin says:

      I probably shouldn’t have ridden but I’m kind of stubborn. Giving into age is really frustrating. I always swore that I’d never given into the aches and pains… It didn’t occur to me that I may not have a choice.

      Like

  3. Courtney says:

    Awwww, Tucker’s face is so adorably sad. Poor guy!
    I’m glad the trimming helped. I love it when it’s such an easy, mind soothing fix.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. emma says:

    ugh i hate those slow-brewing bruises… and idk what it is but some falls really seem to linger in the joints. i’d do whatever it takes to get you feeling better (complete with some nsaids)

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Pingback: The Story So Far ~ One Year of Blogging! | The Story So Far

Leave a Reply

