Thought Processes

“Man, slow down.
We’ll get there, take your time, don’t walk so fast.
Stay on your roller.” ~ Willie Dixon

So many pictures from the show I haven't posted yet.

So many pictures from the show I haven’t posted yet.

I had an entirely different plan for this post. I wanted to do a bit of a series on my thought processes. Ultimately how I’ve gotten to the similar conclusion as a lot of other bloggers out there. It’s time for a change. A change in how I think and act.

I couldn’t find the right words though. The first post would have been fairly negative. I started thinking that was kinda counterproductive. I don’t need to put more negativity out into the world. There’s enough of that already.

This sums it up: The world is negative. People eat up the negative. Magazines, newspapers, the news. A lot of the things we see every day are about negative things or spun in a negative way. It’s no wonder there are sooo many issues with bullying. How can we expect kids to know how to act and treat people when adults can’t even figure it out. IMG_5695It’s time to stop. Stop dwelling on the bad and focusing on the good. It’s time to commit more energy to things that actually matter.

I’m a fairly positive person. Admittedly it isn’t always easy. The world/media has conditioned us to think in negative ways and to be judgmental. I can’t change the media but I can change me.

I’m done with it. And I’m not going to put up with it anymore. Negativity is no longer acceptable. Cattiness, meanness, bullying are no longer acceptable. I’m not just talking about towards other people. I’m just as guilty about directing it at myself. IMG_5692I have no doubt that I’ll still have those kinds of thoughts. But that’s where they will stay. I’m not putting more of that garbage out into the world. And I’m not going to stand by and listen to other people spew that crap. It’s not productive or helpful. I will call you (and myself) out on it.

You have no idea what people are going through, the struggles in their lives. Let’s help to build each other and ourselves up. The world will hopefully be a better place for it. IMG_5706I still feel like my thoughts aren’t fully formed on this. I stand by my commitment to knock out the negativity. I’m just not sure that’s enough.

Do something nice for someone today. Happy Wednesday!

This entry was posted in Off-topic and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Thought Processes

  1. I can relate to this So.much. I don’t try to be negative. It is just easy. I’m not a negative person but it is a slippery slope. So I’m trying to turn it around bc you’re right. It is not needed. Too much already. Good luck! Congrats on change of outlook!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Erin says:

      It’s so much easier. But just because we’re bombarded with it all the time. We just have to stay conscious and accountable. Change is possible! Thank you!

      Like

  2. Jackie V says:

    Thanks for this – kinda needed it! Heading into one of those weeks where it is so easy to be down on me, life, those around me… Gonna a try to be a better person about it. Try being the operative word 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Lauren says:

    Positive thinking is so, so important.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. emma says:

    i love it!! you’re 100% right about it not always being very easy to stay positive… but it’s so worth it in the long run. and while my own blog voice is admittedly a little rosier in attitude than my actual persona, forcing myself to find something positive to write about definitely helps me feel better about things in real life too.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Erin says:

      That’s a good point. Sometimes you have to find the positive and force it into other areas of life. Not everyday is going to be sunshine and rainbows but you can always open up an umbrella.

      Like

  5. Stephanie says:

    This is a great post! I am admittedly an aggressively optimistic person- I assume the best of everyone, I don’t dwell on negative experiences, and I am generally cheerful. It makes me sad when people are negative about others, but especially when they are negative about themselves! We can all do a better job of feeling positively toward ourselves, other people in our lives, AND strangers (on the internet or in real life)!

    Liked by 2 people

  6. karley says:

    Preach girl!!!!!

    Positivity here!!!

    Liked by 2 people

  7. Pingback: The Story So Far ~ One Year of Blogging! | The Story So Far

Leave a Reply

