Perspective

A year ago John was startled out of his shower by our buildings superintendent pounding on our door. I had already left for work. The woman that lives below us was complaining of water leaking into her unit. IMG_5250Our shower head had just broken and was spraying water against the back wall of our shower. We had planned to get a new shower head on the weekend. No big deal. Except as it turned out there were lose tiles at the back of our shower.

Well crap.

We paid for the repairs. The plumber changed the shower head and put silicone around the lose tiles. The ceiling below was fixed. Problem solved.

Umm. Nope just kidding. I got a call this morning while I was at work. The person below was complaining about more leaking. They entered our unit and didn’t find any noticeable leak. They’ve called a plumber out. I’ve been advised that the plumber will be checking the unit below.

My building is good like that. They take care of things when you can’t be there. But I was stressed and freaking out that whoever they had check our unit possibly didn’t notice puddles in our closets ruining our things.

So I left work early. Freaking that things would be ruined, that I’d have to clean up a huge mess and that eventually this leak will be blamed on us and we’ll have to find the money to pay for it AGAIN.

And then I got to Union Station (I take public transit to work most days). The subway slowed right down. The power shut down. An announcement came over the speakers. “We’re in a power off situation due a personal injury at track level”. Our train was able to pull into the station only enough so that one door could open to let people off.

When we exited we saw an older man laying on the tracks. EMS was around him. People were yelling that the power is off. People were standing there watching the poor man. His little dog was down on the tracks sitting beside him. I don’t know if he jumped. I don’t know if he fell. I do know that our train didn’t hit him and that he was getting cared for.

I also know that it was one of the saddest things I’ve ever seen. All of a sudden a leak doesn’t seem to be that big a deal. There are worse things out there.

Hug the ones you love. IMG_5242

Back to regular scheduled program tomorrow… hopefully.

This entry was posted in Off-topic. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Perspective

  1. Lauren says:

    Great post, and so true.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Jackie V says:

    Omg. I hope he is ok. Definitely an excellent post.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Erin says:

      I have that feeling… You know the one where you wish you could have done more or something.

      Like

      • Jackie V says:

        Oh man don’t let that get you – you never know what the situation was and sometimes we do more in those events by just not getting in the way of whatever is going on. You take care of you!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Erin says:

        It only gets me because I’m sad for him and his situation. I hope he has someone that can be there for him. I hope someone was able to take care of his dog. I know I would have been in the way and it was none of my business but at the same time did everyone do the same. Just walk by because it’s not their problem.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. emma says:

    hope he’s alright 😦 also hope the leak turns out to be nbd too

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: October… | The Story So Far

  5. Pingback: The Story So Far ~ One Year of Blogging! | The Story So Far

Leave a Reply

