Review and Giveaway – S.U.D.S.

I’m really hoping to get the hang of my schedule this week. I’m so far behind on writing and reading all your blogs. Bad blogger!IMG_5244

Not to mention homework. Ugh! I have the bad habit of waiting until the last minute to start assignments. Bad student!

This review and giveaway is in honour of almost 6 months of blogging and my 85th post.

S.U.D.S.

What is it? Well it might very well be the best shampoo I’ve ever tried. You may be aware of my obsession with Lush shampoo bars. When I walked into a local tack store and saw shampoo bars for horses I knew I had to give it a try.

Swamp thing! The reason he needs so many baths.

Swamp thing! The reason he needs so many baths.

“Cold process soap made in small batches on a Brooklin, ON farm. Hand cut and cured. Contains plant based oils – Coconut, Olive, GMO-free Canola, Castor and Fair Trade Shea butter, Premium Essential Oils like Lavender and Eucalyptus plus natural clays. Oxide and Ultramarine colour naturally. Each has a unique and heavenly scent.”

The soap is natural, environmentally responsible and vegan. I don’t care much about the vegan aspect but I definitely care about the natural and environmentally friendly. And it smells good. With a different scent depending on the colour of your horse (Carrot Top, Blondy, Black Beauty, Espresso, Hi Glo Silver).IMG_0112

The company claims that their soap will nourish the skin and coat, and act as an anti-inflammatory, anti-fungal, anti-bacterial, insect repellant and that it will kill fleas, ticks and lice.

I can’t really make comments on most of those things. I didn’t notice much difference in terms of insect repellant. But it did make his coat really nice and he didn’t have any dry skin. Dry skin is sometimes a huge problem for Tucker, especially on his dock. The summer of 2014 he rubbed his tail so much he had a bald spot.IMG_0121

Zero dry skin on his tail this year. This shampoo washed out easily and made his tail easier to brush out when dry. In terms of his skin, I used to spray him with a leave in conditioner after a bath. I found with this shampoo I didn’t need to do that. He had no flaky skin patches. I think it has to do with the essential oils that they use as well as the fact that this shampoo rinses out sooooo well.

One of my biggest pet peeves with regular shampoo is that it takes so long and so much water to rinse out properly. Not the case with S.U.D.S. This may be a good product for people in areas where conservation of water is required. I find that regular shampoo leaves a film you can feel when the coat is dry. S.U.D.S. leave that same soft clean feel without the film.IMG_0118

My technique: basically I’d wash one side at a time. Wet the Tucker, rub the bar all over one side of him, give a bit of a curry and rinse out. Repeat on the other side. The one thing that I did find a little annoying is that the bar gets pretty slippery and would slip out of my grasp. But it’s soap that happens.

I love this soap so much I want you all to try it. But I’m not rich so only one of you can win the giveaway.IMG_0125

What you need to do to win:

Post on your own blog about your favourite bath story, funny bath moment, or favourite bath picture. I feel I should clarify… horse pictures and stories only. We don’t want to see your naked butt!

This is the most important part. Comment on this post with a link to your bath time blog post. One day I’ll figure out how to do that cool blog link thing, today is not that day. So, comment and link to enter. If you don’t do those things I won’t know you’re participating and you’ll miss out.

You have until October 9th, 2015 to participate. After that date I will enter everyone’s name (that participated) randomly into a spreadsheet and do some sort of random draw. The winner will be announced on October 12th, 2015.

Winner will receive one shampoo bar for the coat colour of their choice.

Anyone is free to enter. The shampoo is not all that heavy so I’m not overly concerned about cost of shipping. That being said, I’m not looking into policies of what can and cannot be shipped for every country. I will not be held responsible for customs vetoing the shipment.

Good luck!!

This review was not solicited or sponsored by S.U.D.S.

This entry was posted in Regularly Scheduled Program and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Review and Giveaway – S.U.D.S.

  1. emma says:

    interesting! i hate how long it takes to rinse most soaps too – esp given how much my mare HATES getting hosed off lol

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Lauren says:

    Shampoo bars for horses is a great idea!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Duh Moment – What Comes After Rhythm | The Story So Far

  4. Pingback: October… | The Story So Far

  5. Grace C says:

    My favorite “bath” story is when my friend A and I took our ponies to the river and we went swimming with them. I already made a post about it though (http://horsebackartist.blogspot.com/2015/08/pony-pool-day.html), could that count as an entry??

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Pingback: What’s Best For The Horse? | The Story So Far

  7. Bette says:

    What a cool soap! Alas I found your blog after the 9th otherwise I’d totally enter your contest 🙂 But always looking for fun and different gifts for horse people at Christmas time and this might be the gift for this year!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Pingback: The Story So Far ~ One Year of Blogging! | The Story So Far

Leave a Reply

