Skills Development Hunter Jumper Schooling Show September 20 2015

What a crazy week this has been. I’m still trying to get used to my new schedule and I had an interview to prepare for. All I have to say is TGIF!IMG_5738

As I previously mentioned I owe you a show post.

It was the best of times, it was the worst of times. Ok so worst is a tad dramatic. We had some hiccups this show season and this past show but for the most part we had fun and continued to learn and grow as a team.IMG_5786

Sunday was the final show of the season. It also happened to be the biggest. We were there forever! Waiting around is never good on my nerves. I probably considered scratching about a dozen times.

But eventually our ring started. I think it was around 3:00. We went in for our warm up. Nailed everything but a tight distance on one of the quarter line verticals. No big deal. Took Tucker back to his stall for a drink and then went back out to the ring to wait. I hate waiting!

First course: left rein quarter line vertical away from home, outside 6 stride, diagonal 5 stride, outside 4 stride, long approach to diagonal oxer.

This is me jumping ahead and punching myself in the face.

This is me jumping ahead and punching myself in the face.

Would have been perfect if I had stayed committed to the long spot on the in of the 4 stride. I think I may have dropped him and not put on leg but still expected him to go long. Instead he put in an extra step while I closed my hip angle. The result was ugly and I punched myself in the face (can’t say I didn’t deserve it) and an added stride.

Surprisingly we ended up pinning 5th out of 11 entries.

Second round: right rein quarter line vertical away from home, outside 4 stride, long approach diagonal oxer, outside 6 stride, diagonal 5 stride.IMG_5742

Again would have been perfect if I had stayed committed to the long spot on the in of the 6 stride. FML! It wasn’t nearly as bad as the first course though. No more face punching and we made it out in the correct strides.

More surprisingly we pinned 1st out of 11 entries. Yay!

Third course (equitation): left rein quarter line vertical away towards home, first of the diagonal line bend to the diagonal oxer, first of the outside 6 stride rollback to the second of the diagonal line, outside 4 stride, halt, trot to diagonal vertical.IMG_5708

We jumped in kinda big to the bending line and Tuck isn’t the easiest to bend. So basically we bent out to far and lost some rhythm and jumped huge on this strange angle. I wasn’t sure we’d make it over but we did. On landing I didn’t feel secure in my position and because of that I allowed him to cut the corner so I took a circle before continuing. The rest of the course was absolutely perfect. After I left the ring my coach questioned my decision to circle. He thought that I had maybe hurt myself. He said it didn’t look as bad as it felt. But I stand by my decision. If I hadn’t taken the time to reorganized I feel that the next jump would have been bad.IMG_5699

The circle allowed me to finish on a really good note. But no ribbon. I don’t care though because the last bit of the course felt so good. Win.

Then we did eq on the flat and hack. Of course out of 11 horses there were bound to be a lot of better movers. So no pin in the hack. We did pick up a 6th place in the eq though.IMG_5776

So that’s it. Our show season is over. Oh except the part where they calculated the points and we ended up high point champions for the whole series. YAY! We got a big ribbon (which had to go back because there was an error on it that they have to fix) and a nice leather halter.

This entry was posted in 2015 Horse Show and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Skills Development Hunter Jumper Schooling Show September 20 2015

  1. Lauren says:

    Congrats on high point! That’s great šŸ™‚

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Woo! Big ribbon! You are owning those jumps!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Karley says:

    way to slide that last point in there!!! Yahooooooo and great job for sticking with it!! Great end to the season!!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. emma says:

    yay for high point!!!! and 1st place!!!! love the pics too haha – congrats šŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

  5. 2 things: 1) your horse has a beautiful trot! Love his frame, so spot on. 2) I used to miss my long spots too, and to be honest, they make me nervous. My instructor had us practice shortening and lengthening our canter stride, then added a line to the equation and had us add and takeaway strides so that we’d get a better eye for the long and short take off points. It really helped me, so I def recommend trying it! Also congrats on the high point! šŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Courtney says:

    Congratulations!! you guys look great! Just watch out for your own fists of wrath!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. WOOO BIG RIBBON!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Pingback: The Story So Far ~ One Year of Blogging! | The Story So Far

Leave a Reply

