An Update On All The Things

“Ohhhhhhh Back To School Back To School To Prove To Dad That I’m Not A Fool I’ve Got My, Lunch Packed Up My Boots Tied Tight I Hope I Don’t Get In A Fight Ohhhh Back To School Back To School Back To School” ~Adam SandlerIMG_5353

Life is crazy again. Classes started up on Monday. I’m taking three courses this term. Thankfully my work is accommodating because I’ve had to shift my schedule around a bit to make it all work.

Without really realizing it I’ve made this term the term of conservation. Intro to environmental studies, primate conservation biology (likely my last anthropology course SAD face) and Conservation of Canada’s Forests. These are the first courses that I’ve taken that have been devoted to conservation. I’m not sure what I was expecting but so far it seems intense.IMG_2091

I guess I thought it would be easier. Although I’m not sure why. You see a problem area, you do a study, you say save XYZ because of XYZ and then it happens. Yay it’s not like that. There are sooooo many other things that get factored in and it’s very political. I’m a little excited about learning all the ins and outs. I’m also a little intimidated and sad about the state of things. This should be an interesting term.

After class yesterday, yay for half day vacations and early classes, I headed out to the barn for a lesson. I was slightly anxious that I’d get return of The Terrible Tucker. Thankfully the neighbours weren’t working on their house. He did give it a good eye though and then went to work like NBD. I had my horse back. Yay!

I warmed up and did maybe 5 minutes of no stirrup work. FAIL! He was a little behind my leg so I did transitions, bending and some leg yielding. Stuff like that always gets him fired up.

G had us go back to the exercise that we were doing on Saturday. Trotting back and forth over the quarter line vertical. I’m not that great at trot fences. I got left behind a few times. G said to make sure that I keep my leg on right to the base. That seemed to help a little.

Then we did the cloverleaf pattern again. Right rein to quarter line, left turn towards the rail, circle, left rein back to quarter line, right turn towards the rail, circle. It’s about here that is became apparent that we were doing the same exercise because of a weakness G saw in our ride on Saturday. Distances were NBD, lead changes right the left were NBD, lead changes left to right… HUGE deal.IMG_4788

Course: left rein to quarter line vertical, right turn towards the rail, circle right, back to quarter line, right turn to second of diagonal line, right turn towards the rail, rolling back right to diagonal single, finishing with a right turn.

So basically he had me turning right for the whole lesson. I had to really focus on going forward after the fence, staying straight (not cutting in to make the turn) and creating the right shape for the lead change. We failed a lot! G stopped us part way through on more than a couple occasions and made us start again. Eventually we went around without making any mistakes.

I feel I should point out that when I say we I mostly mean me. For the most part when I’d set him up right/ask right I’d get the lead before I even finished asking. I have a feeling that it’s a problem in my hips. If I wait until after the jump I don’t have enough time to shift, ask and make the turn. Because we repeated the exercise so many times it helped me sort out where I needed to be. So I ended up shifting slightly before the jump which meant I was able to go forward on landing and create the shape instead of fighting with my body and running out of room.IMG_4870

I guess that it’s not just Tucker that needs a chiropractor and as it turns out I’m not the only one with chaffing.

It appears as though Tucker is developing a girth gall. He’s got a bump forming just in front of the girth on his left side. It doesn’t seem to bother him though. I’ve never had to deal with this before. G says that there is a product I can put on it to make it go away. So that’s good. He also says I need to get a different girth. Not so good. John bought me the girth that matches my saddle for my Birthday this year. It’s not even a year old. Sad. So if anyone is looking for a slightly used Luc Childeric girth that isn’t quite right for my chubby horse I’ve got one for sale. I think that it is a size 54, I’ll have to double check.

Have you ever had to deal with a girth gall? Anyone looking for a new used girth?

This entry was posted in Off-topic, Regularly Scheduled Program and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to An Update On All The Things

  1. Lauren says:

    I haven’t had to deal with that, luckily! I use a cheapy fleece girth right now.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Liz Stronach says:

    No leads on the girth front, but (tangential comment ahead) a mare I used to ride had what looked like a girth gall but turned out to be from her shoe when she lay down! She now wears one of those rubber ankle bracelets all the time. Also, I didn’t know you were in school! Your classes sound really cool.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. emma says:

    “return of the terrible tucker’ sounds like a great movie title haha. also, my mare takes great offense to leather girths apparently and instead goes in a lettia coolmax fleece girth

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Courtney says:

    Vintage got a weird girth mark once. I’d been using a wintec one, but it wasn’t normal wintec, it had a weird texture to it that I’m not sure how to describe. The most annoying part was it was an expensive girth (foolish me for spending that kind of money on a wintec girth). So now I just stick with the same neoprene girth she’s used for ten years lol.
    Mildly related girth story – I also had a friend who’s mare got a weird girth mark because she tightened the girth too tight. Once she peeled on the girth, her horse still had an indent of where it was, with a big bump behind it. It looked pretty nasty and lasted a few days.
    You study neat things. I’m intrigued!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Erin says:

      I hear ya. The girth I have was both expensive and a gift. Also I’ve been using it since March so it seems a little strange that it would be fine until now.
      I’m so close to being done school it’s kinda stressing me out. I love learning.

      Like

  5. Karley says:

    What about one of the professional choice neoprene ones?

    Tucker be a good boy!!

    Like

  6. Tracy - Fly On Over says:

    Trot jumps are HARD yo. And I second Pro Choice neoprene girths — I don’t use anything else!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Pingback: The Story So Far ~ One Year of Blogging! | The Story So Far

Leave a Reply

