NHW Blog Hop – Challenge

No Hour Wasted, challenge accepted! Tell me about a challenge you set for yourself and accomplished, or set yourself a new challenge and keep us updated!

Let’s see. You all know about my accomplished challenge… or maybe you don’t.

Last year was the first time that I showed for real. Yes I showed my old horse a bit but not with any real goals or regularity due to $$$. We won a few ribbons but never really accomplished anything spectacular.

I made my first foray into the Trillium circuit last year with Tucker. Completing a season of showing was just something I felt that I needed to do at least once in my life. The only goal that I set myself was to place well enough throughout the summer to get a ribbon at the end of year banquet.

Pretty 6th place end of year award

Pretty 6th place end of year award

The season turned out way better than I could have hoped. Goals that I didn’t even realize I had were accomplished. Our season in a nutshell: we pinned at every show (except championships), we won champion at two different shows, one of those champion ribbons came with a champion scrim, the other champion ribbon helped us win series high point and a champion cooler, We grew as a team and had fun doing it, Tucker saved my ass on more than one occasion, I got nominated for a special sportsmanship award and we finished the season in 6th place. Not too shabby for our first year together. I’m really proud of our accomplishments.

Going forward I’ve set myself two challenges.

The first is a short term/ongoing goal. I wrote about it yesterday. I’m slightly nervous of the time constraint but I suppose if it takes an extra week it’s not such a big deal. After all I am starting part way through the month.IMG_5538

So I’ve made myself a riding schedule with the amount of time each ride that I plan to dedicate to dropping my irons. My blog and now this challenge from No Hour Wasted will hopefully keep me accountable and motivated. First ride tonight with an ‘easy’ 5 minute goal.

The second challenge I’ve set myself is more of a long term goal. It might not happen for a few years. It’ll all depend on the $$$ I can save in order to complete another full season on the Trillium circuit, and if we can do well enough to qualify for championships again.IMG_0810

The goal is to show at champs again and not only win a ribbon but win at least one first place ribbon. When you win first place at champs you also win a silver plate. I’d really like that memory.

There you have it, our completed, short term and long term challenges that I’ve set.

What goals are you working towards?

 

This entry was posted in Blog Hop and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to NHW Blog Hop – Challenge

  1. Lauren says:

    I really dont’ have any goals right now, but I think yours’ are great!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. What excellent challenges!! Congrats on your accomplished and Good luck with new ones! I’d love to hear more about your sportsmanship award. You’ll have legs of steel soon with Stirrupless work.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Erin says:

      Thanks! I’ll have to see if I can find the program from the banquet. I didn’t win but it was cool to be nominated. G’s daughter wrote this long letter about why I deserve it. It was really nice.

      Like

  3. Stephanie says:

    Those are great goals! I’d love to get a year-end award from the dressage group, but it ain’t happening this year lolz

    Liked by 1 person

  4. emma says:

    great goals!! ambitious, yes, but attainable too. wishing you the best of luck!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Pingback: The Story So Far ~ One Year of Blogging! | The Story So Far

Leave a Reply

