Saddle Sores – Chafing – Chub Rub

Thankfully this is not something I have to deal with often. Because ouch!IMG_4078

But I guess the high temperatures we’ve been experiencing lately coupled with a loose fitting pair of breaches is a recipe for some hurt.

My ride on Friday was not nearly as successful as our Tuesday and Thursday rides. TMI time… I get the rubs at the top of my thigh on the back of my leg. The pain! As soon as I realized I had a rub I wanted to stop. But that’s really not helpful to our program. Not that my continued riding accomplished much. I never really got forward Tucker.  FullSizeRenderI can’t be the only one that suffers or (again thankfully) occasionally suffers. So I went to the trusty google to see if I could find some good advice on prevention.

Not Necessarily Helpful Ways to Prevent Skin Chafing (as per advice found on google):

1. Decrease the amount of friction to your skin

I guess this could be accomplished by not wearing those loose breeches. But let’s face it, unless you stand in the stirrups the whole time, there’s no real way to avoid contact with the saddle. And it doesn’t seem to matter how well the breeches fit, there is always some movement.

Two point FOREVER.

Two point FOREVER.

2. Stay dry. Wet skin can make chafing worse. Don’t stay in wet or sweaty clothes.

Yeah that’s a good one… JK!!! We occasionally ride in million degree temperatures and/or in the rain. “Just a second judge. I have to hop off and change my breeches before that next line. I sweated a little through that tough combination.” Okay so maybe I’m being a little facetious. But sweat happens, and if you’re riding for an hour (or sometimes more when you’re showing) it’s a little difficult to stay dry.

3. Lubricate.

It seems like most things I read recommended Vaseline as a good lubricant. It’s easy to find, cheap and it works. But it’s greasy… I did not just spend $$$ on breeches to ruin them with greasy lubricant.

Maybe some saddle oil. I’m sure you get some off the saddle anyway and it seems to wash off just fine. Just try to explain that one to your barn buddy that walks in on you with a jar of mink oil in one hand and the other hand down your pants. Awkward.

4. Dress right, less is more. Consider running riding without a shirt or with only a bra.

Only if this…

Common Sense Tips for Treatment:

1. Skin chafing should be treated not ignored.

Probably good advice because you know infections and all.

2. Gently clean and dry the chafed area.

Alternatively, for a good time try scrubbing the crap out of it. Or not.

4. Here we go again with the petroleum jelly (alternatives: Noxema, Vagisil, Preparation H, tea tree oil).

Because we’ve already ruined our breeches trying to avoid the chafing so why not get it all over our not barn clothes too.

Then there’s the let’s hope to hell it never comes to this advice:

1. Very painful, swollen, bleeding, or crusted, seek help from your doctor.

Oh dear god. Why would you allow rubbing to continue to this point?!?!?

Then of course you have the no way in hell this is happening advice:IMG_0375

1. Give your skin some time to heal from chafing before being active again.

Um no. Riding is life.

Have you ever gotten a saddle sore? Any tricks for avoiding and/or treating them?

This entry was posted in Off-topic, Regularly Scheduled Program and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Saddle Sores – Chafing – Chub Rub

  1. Stephanie says:

    I’ve used Body Glide before- it works really well! It isn’t oily or greasy like Vaseline. I haven’t used it on light-colored breeches, just darker schooling tights, so I’m not sure how much it might show on tan clothing.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Erin says:

      Hmmm. I haven’t had many rubs in my life so I’ve never thought about prevention but maybe I’ll look into that. It wouldn’t hurt to try on those really hot days.

      Like

  2. Amanda C says:

    I’ve had the most luck with baby powder.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Jackie V says:

    Omg I thought I was crazy this weekend when all of a sudden I had this weird rash on one thigh… So no, you’re not alone! And I 2nd body glide – when I used to run, it was my saving grace, and it won’t leave grease stains or anything

    Liked by 1 person

  4. L. Williams says:

    I get rubbed right where my thigh meets my groin area when I do a lot of no stirrup work, days and days in a row, I’ve come to realize a lot of it has to do with the trot of the horse (happens less with me with Ramone than with Carlos) slapping a moleskin on the affected area, though slightly painful when you remove, helps a lot!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Erin says:

      That one sounds painful! I had a small tear there once. It was awful. That would be a good thing to have on hand if the preventative method doesn’t work.

      Like

  5. Karen M says:

    Sometimes I wear the wrong underwear. Gold Bond powder helps. Plus it’s good for some horsey rashes, too.

    Like

  6. Courtney says:

    I heard that monkey butt stuff works. I can’t remember it’s actual name, but it’s sold in tack stores.
    Also, OUCH!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Lauren says:

    My husband used Monkey Butt for cycling back in the day. This is the reason I can’t wear SmartPak Piper breeches anymore. They made me rub SO bad!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. emma says:

    i haven’t had this particular issue (thank god) but maybe trying different material riding pants might help? like some of the more technical type tights?

    Like

  9. Carly says:

    Baby powder or Gold Bond all the way. I don’t ride in this heat without it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Erin says:

      Interesting. I’ve never even thought to look into preventative methods before. Maybe because we aren’t usually hit with the heat we’ve had this summer.

      Like

  10. Another vote for Monkey Butt. They carry it on the front counter at my feed store. It’s a life saver.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Pingback: An Update On All The Things | The Story So Far

  12. Mallory says:

    Hi there,

    Sounds like a bad experience! You should try Thigh Society (anti-chaffing shorts), you can wear them right under your riding pants. They will stop and prevent chub rub!

    Like

  13. Pingback: The Story So Far ~ One Year of Blogging! | The Story So Far

Leave a Reply

