Weekend Recap – Riding, Guns & Greek Food

What a weekend!

Still love this picture!

Still love this picture!

There was a reining show at the barn this past weekend so I went out to the barn early Saturday to do a bit of spectating and socializing with friends. Reiners have got to be some on the friendliest people. I’m not the most social person when it comes to strangers but I found myself having long conversations with a bunch of random people. It was kinda cool.IMG_7250wm

Eventually I grabbed Tucker from the field and tacked up. We headed up the top ring as it wasn’t being used by the reiners on account of it still having jumps set up.

But perhaps jumps are NBD for reiners… check out the ‘Official NFR Experience’ on FB. There are a bunch of videos of riders trading places. 

I started out by getting Tuck moving off my leg at the walk and then added in circles with a counter bend. After his tantrum during our lesson last week I realized I need to do a lot more lateral work and not just the simple stuff we’re good(ish) at. After he figured out what I was asking for I added in some trot between the circles. We had a lengthy disagreement about finishing the circle in the ‘scary’ corner. Apparently it’s ok to go around a full circle in that corner with a right bend but not left. Weirdo! IMG_5540

Eventually he gave in and did what was asked and I moved on to reinforcing the move off my leg at trot and canter. We did a couple lead changes that were perfect. I did about 5 minutes of no stirrup work and just about died. That should not have been so difficult. Then we finished up with some work on the turn on the haunches. This needs lots more work but it’ll get there.

Then Sunday this happened:

IMG_0759Yep, that’s me learning how to shoot clay pigeons. John’s mom turned 65 yesterday and decided that’s what she wanted to do for her birthday. John’s brother has a gun for hunting and therefore knows about this stuff so he set it all up.

I’ve never held a gun before let alone shot one. I was a little nervous but it turned out to be pretty cool and fun. I think I might be a natural, I hit the second one that I shot at. Then promptly did a happy dance (after making sure the gun was pointed in the proper direction of course). I would definitely go again.

After we finished with the guns we all headed back into Toronto for some Greek food on the Danforth. Tasty way to end a great day.

Have you ever shot targets or traps? Did you enjoy it?

This entry was posted in Off-topic, Regularly Scheduled Program and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Weekend Recap – Riding, Guns & Greek Food

  1. emma says:

    sounds like lots of fun stuff!! also i love that pic of the cowboy jumping haha

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Lauren says:

    Looks like a fun weekend!

    Like

  3. Liz Stronach says:

    Ooh, reiners! I’d love to see that! Does your barn have Western boarders as well?

    Like

  4. Jackie V says:

    I’m so impressed that you shot targets! My family was big into trap shooting when I was younger but I was always too scared to try! Now you may have inspired me!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Erin says:

      My family shot targets to prep for hunting when I was younger but they never let me shoot or maybe I wasn’t interested.
      Do it! It’s quite fun with a good group of people.

      Like

  5. Karley says:

    I rode one of my bff’s reining mares last night … sooo fun!!! Just the coolest thing for a hunter rider to play around doing lol!

    Like

  6. Pingback: The Story So Far ~ One Year of Blogging! | The Story So Far

Leave a Reply

