Darcy Tucker… not the Hockey Player

I’ve been keeping a secret from you. It’s a good one that I’m super excited about.

Could that be a baby Tucker???

Could that be a baby Tucker???

I met Tuckers old, old owner and the girl (now woman I guess) that used to ride him.

It was a few weeks ago now. My barn was hosting a show for the Welsh Pony & Cob Association.

How cute are those foals!?!?!

How cute are those foals!?!?!

I was coaching in the sand ring. A woman approached the ring and asked if one of the horses in the ring was named Vic. Vic (one of our school horses) was in the ring. The woman went on to say that she had sold him to coach G. Cool. She left after giving Vic a pat and I thought nothing more of it.

Just under 3 years old.

Just under 3 years old.

Later in the day I was in the boarder barn tacking up Tucker and one of the barn staff brought the same woman in along with a couple other girls. I knew immediately what was coming.

Turns out that she had also sold Tucker, whose name at the time was Darcy, to G. They were so happy to see him and hear that he was doing so well. They exclaimed over how big he is now and how much he’s filled out.

Just under 3 years old.

Just under 3 years old.

They gave me a little of his history. They ‘rescued’ him when he was just under 3 years old. They were quick to say that it wasn’t from a bad situation though. He’s always been treated well. Although I can’t picture it, even with photo evidence, he was apparently much lankier.

Look at how long his legs look. Crazy!

Look at how long his legs look. Crazy!

He was always laid back Tuck even through his first rides. When they were starting him he had trouble with the left canter (which is now his better lead). I mentioned the trouble we’d been having to the right with his hip. Steph the girl that rode him said that she had once had a pet psychic out (cool!). The psychic said that Tuck said he had been kicked. So maybe he will always have a little trouble with the hip. We’ll see.

Showing with Steph. Probably about 5 years old.

Showing with Steph. Probably about 5 years old.

Turns out our estimation of 11 years old is accurate. So yay. And they think (possibly know) that he is a percheron quarter horse cross.

So excited to have met them. Steph said she’d buy him from me if ever I needed to sell him. It’s so nice to know that someone else loves my boy as much as I do.

Thanks so much for the pictures Stephanie!!!

This entry was posted in Regularly Scheduled Program and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Darcy Tucker… not the Hockey Player

  1. emma says:

    how cool, and i love all the pictures!! learning about my horse’s formative years has definitely been very eye opening and fun too

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Stephanie says:

    Your welcome for the pictures! He was always a chunky boy that ate well, he was just lanky at times because of his growth spurts. If I can find any more pictures of him, I will send them your way!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Karley says:

    So cool to meet them and hear some of his past!!

    Putting the puzzle together 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: The Story So Far ~ One Year of Blogging! | The Story So Far

Leave a Reply

