6 Non-Horsey Things I Can’t Live Without

I’m going to be a bit wishy washy to start. My fault for being a little MIA lately. What can I say. It’s summer. Hopefully I’ll make the jump back on the bandwagon soon.social media bandwagon

Thanks everyone for the condolences on yesterday’s post. To be honest after I wrote it I really regretted it. It made me sadder than I’d been since Monday when it happened. But by the end of the day I started to feel different. I’m not sure if it was just putting it out there or everyone’s kind words. It was like a weight started to be lifted. Of course I’m still sad but I can think of him now without sobbing all the time.IMG_0051

I wrote it to remember. I’m sure that everyone that has lost someone special can relate when I say I’m scared I’ll forget. Forget all the details. Forget the way he’d flop down and do this cute little shift to get comfy and then look at you out of one eye with a goofy grin or the way that his whole back end would wiggle when you first walked in the door.

Enough with the sad.

Basically what’s been going on in Tucker land is a lot of bad riding (and some good). I forgot how to ride again. Oops. Last week we were jumping a triple combination (one stride to a one stride) that I completely demolished when I let him drift left and I took the standard out with my knee. Don’t worry knees are highly over rated anyway. Then I proceeded to ride it 2 to a 2 or 1 to a 2 or 2 to a 1. Basically I never sorted my shit out. Thankfully you don’t generally see that sort of combination in the hunter ring.IMG_4823

Then this week I decided that riding the pull was a good plan. Ugh. Bad rider is bad. Could have ended up rolling the both of us. It was one of those jump don’t jump situations where they kinda stop mid jump but not stop mid jump and the pole ends up between their front legs as they go over. Thankfully the jumps were really low and Tucker is a super star.

I think that I may have sorted out my issues last night. Which is good because we show on Sunday. So fingers crossed.IMG_0684

Alright, I think that’s it with the random. On with the whole point of this post.

Last week I posted about 5 things that I’m lusting after. Keeping with that trend I thought I’d tell you about a few things I already have in my procession that I love love love. So “can’t live without” is perhaps a little bit strong. I’d probably get by just fine without them. But they make life so much better. AUTOSEAL® Fit Stainless Water Bottle1. Contigo 20 ounce water bottle from Costco – I love water. That’s pretty much the only thing that I drink. I prefer ice water. Actually water warmer than cold sometimes makes me gag. What can I say I’m a bit of a weirdo. This water bottle is awesome. I can fill it up with ice and water in the morning before work (6:30am) and then refill it a bunch of times throughout the day with tap water and the ice lasts until I’m home (5:00pm). I lucked out finding a two pack at Costco for around $20. One for work and one for the barn. Perfect. Love this product.  Karma Komba2. Lush Karma Komba shampoo bar – I used to have a really dry scalp complete with flaking. Those dandruff shampoos were awful. They wouldn’t help much with the dry scalp and they’d make my hair gross and greasy. I had pretty much given up. Dandruff was life. Then I decided to give Lush a try. Best decision ever. The people that work there are so helpful and for the most part really know the products they sell. This shampoo smells good, is only about $12, last a lot longer than regular shampoo and best of all sorted out my hair/scalp issues.IMG_0668

3. Legale bamboo sockettes – Letting the freak flag fly a little higher here… I need to wear socks. I must wear socks. I can’t not wear socks except with sandals. Socks and sandals are a no no. Other than that though socks are on my feet all the time. I have sleeping socks for crying out loud. Sometimes though socks just don’t work. Capris and flats with ankle socks… um no thanks. I found sockettes several years ago now and was fairly unimpressed by them. They’d slip off a toe or roll off the heel. Annoying! When John and I were in Florida last month I picked up a 3 pack of Legale bamboo sockettes. I wish I had grabbed a couple more packs. These are the best fitting sockette I’ve ever tried. No slipping off the toe, the sticky grip thing at the heel is larger than average and holds quite well too and the sock itself is really soft and comfortable. Need more of these stat!  IMG_04204. Scala Visor – So glad I bought this. I picked it up the last time I was at Running Fox for around $30. Two reasons why I love this so much. First I wear glasses and don’t have a pair of prescription sunglasses. I should probably invest in a pair of sunglasses but in the meantime this keeps me from squinting those lovely little wrinkles onto my face. Second, for some reason sunscreen sometimes makes my face sting. I should probably investigate why. But this visor is apparently UPF 50+. So yay.IMG_0686

5. Skagen watch – I don’t like watches. I’ve owned one watch in my 30+ years and stopped wearing it many years ago. Then coach G made some comments about Tuckers fitness level and I realized I should probably be paying closer attention to how long I ride for. I finally broke down while in Florida and picked myself up a Skagen watch that was on sale for I think 50% off. Can’t go wrong with that. I haven’t taken the watch off since. I love it. It’s thin so it doesn’t get in the way of a cuff and it’s perfectly feminine. I love that this watch isn’t clunky and doesn’t weigh my surprisingly small wrist down.  6. MEC Victoria Tote – This is a necessity. I live downtown Toronto, work 45 minutes northeast of there and the barn is 30+ minutes northeast of work. Luckily my mom lives between work and the barn so I’m able to stop at her place to change and grab a snack. Thanks mom! This bag is perfect. It’s got lots of compartments for all my things and more than enough room for all the clothes I need even on the coldest winter days. Since I’ve bought this bag I’ve had to pick up a few more for other people that have seen it and loved it too. So worth the $60 I spent.

What are some of your favourite finds?

This entry was posted in Off-topic and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to 6 Non-Horsey Things I Can’t Live Without

  1. emma says:

    riding the pull and drifting down the lines… yep that pretty accurately sums up my riding too… ugh…. also that tote bag looks perfect

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Courtney says:

    I like how you have a hat for protection, and Tucker has socks on his ears. I feel like there’s some kind of context missing, but I laughed.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Erin says:

      Haha! There’s not much to it. A friend was carrying around socks at a show and we wondered what he’d do if they were on his ears. As you can see in typical Tucker fashion all he did was look cute for the camera.

      Like

  3. Stephanie says:

    I’ve been super curious to try those Lush shampoo bars, especially when I’m traveling with work! Good to know that they work well!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Erin says:

      Do it. They are really good for travelling or taking to the gym. I’ve tried a few of them and mostly liked them all. I recommend talking to someone that works there before you pick one as they are all good for different hair types.

      Like

  4. Pingback: Review and Giveaway – S.U.D.S. | The Story So Far

  5. Pingback: The $900 FB Pony Blog Hop – Top 5 Horse Show Essentials | The Story So Far

  6. Pingback: The Story So Far ~ One Year of Blogging! | The Story So Far

Leave a Reply

