Stories From The Saddle Blog Hop – Heart Horse

A while back I read (or more likely skimmed) something about the types of horses you’ll encounter or have in your life.

The Stories from the Saddle blog hop reminded me of it. I can’t for the life of me remember where I read it or find it now. And I certainly can’t remember all the types. But I’ll try.

Let’s see there was the…

The First Horse:IMG_0018

That would be KC. A beautiful, dainty, bay TB mare. She was a dream come true. After so many years of asking my parents for a horse of my own, my dad finally gave in. That’s way simpler than it actually happened. There were many more factors that played into the ultimate decision to get me a horse, but they are boring and we won’t get into that. At times she was a great first horse, smart and newbie friendly.

But then there’s the…

The Horse You Shouldn’t Have:IMG_0020

Ok so that probably wasn’t what it was called. My memory is not so good. This for me would also be KC. I often wonder what life would be like if she had come into my life now as opposed to back then as my first horse. As good as she was, she could also be a real handful. Getting a young TB as my first horse is not something we should have done. Not everything about her was newbie friendly and that smartness often caused problems. If I could go back in time with the knowledge I have now I would have done things differently. Like take my coach with me when horse shopping. I was just so excited and new to the whole thing. I didn’t know, I was naive.

The Heart Horse:

At a point in my life, even though we had our problem, I thought this also applied to KC. I had dreams of winning the lottery and buying her back from my friend. I’d set her up on my farm. I’d even maybe breed her. But certain events happened and that dream went away.

And then Tucker came along. And that dream truly went away. Not because Tuck is my heart horse. I’m not sure yet if he is or if he isn’t. Time will tell. But he opened my eyes to what could have been/could be. I love my Tucker and can’t ever see myself selling him. But I’m not sold on him being my heart horse.

The Horse You Need:IMG_0544

This one is 100% Tucker! KC left me with some deep scars. I’m not sure if I’ll ever be fully over some of my issues. But Tuck is getting me there. He is such a confidence builder. Jump height still makes me nervous. But I can now go forward, do gymnastics, and a multitude of other things because of him. I’m not really sure how to explain it. He makes me feel safe but not complacent. He knows his job (and I think likes it) but has more to learn. He’s easy with the perfect amount of difficult to keep things interesting. We get each other. Our partnership just simply works.IMG_0031

So that’s it or all I can remember anyway.

This entry was posted in Blog Hop and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Stories From The Saddle Blog Hop – Heart Horse

  1. carey says:

    I like this. Cosmo is definitely the Horse I Need. He may be my Heart Horse, but I don’t know yet. But he is definitely the best fit for me right now and for the foreseeable future.

    Like

  2. rachelum33 says:

    I need to Blog Hop this! This is a great post and I understand what you mean. Tango is the horse I needed this year and could eventually turn into a heart horse but I won’t have that chance since his owner has him for sale after this season. I dream of winning the lottery too so I could buy him and a horse that is going to last longer than my poor old man. Lol. I think a heart horse has a lot to do with trust. And I am finally getting that trust with him.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. So glad that Tucker has helped with your confidence issues. Those horses are worth their weigh in gold. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: Life of a Hunter | The Story So Far

  5. Pingback: And Just Like That It Happened | The Story So Far

  6. Pingback: The Story So Far ~ One Year of Blogging! | The Story So Far

Leave a Reply

