Weekend Recap

It was a long weekend for me. Yay! I’m on an adjusted schedule at work due to the Pan Am Games.

We're getting better at selfies!

We’re getting better at selfies!

I’ve had two more rides on Tuck since I’ve been back from vacation. Each ride he is getting better/back to where we were. I did have a friend ride him while I was gone but it’s just not the same.

"Who me?"

“Who?… me?”

Saturday we worked in the ring and focused on softening and rounding at all gaits. He put up a bit of a fuss but eventually gave in. I’m not sure if it’s because the girls I had riding him weren’t insisting that he maintain or if I’m just asking in a different way. On the other hand it could just be Tuck being a jerk forgetting that we’ve already had this fight and he lost. Regardless of his issue by the end he was completely responsive to my requests.

After that my BFF came over for the day and night. Sleepover fun time! Yes yes I know that sounded slightly juvenile for a 30+ to say. But she lives at least an hour away so that’s how we roll.

We walked all over Toronto.

I've been told that it's supposed to be paddles... it looks like a giant rainbow pine cone to me though.

I’ve been told that it’s supposed to be paddles… it looks like a giant rainbow pine cone to me though.

Saw the Pan Am Cauldron.

Pad Thai fries and pork dumplings

Pad Thai fries and pork dumplings

And ate lots of yummy food.

Patatas Bravas and porchetta tostada

Patatas Bravas and porchetta tostada

If you are ever in Toronto make sure you check out Lisa Marie. It is Matt Basile’s, star/host of Rebel Without a Kitchen, restaurant. Soooo good!IMG_0604

And then hung out on the rooftop. IMG_0596Sunday Tucker got the day off. BBQ time with the family to celebrate a couple of birthdays.

Monday’s ride started in the ring again. Reinforcing everything we had worked on Saturday and then adding in some bending and lateral movements. He was much more responsive right from the start, softening and rounding almost before I even asked. Good boy! It was really hot, so it was a bit of a struggle getting him to move forward from behind for the whole ride. But we managed. Once I was satisfied (and a little worried we might both pass out from the heat) we moved out into the field with the hill.FullSizeRender

It’s really more of a gentle slope but I’ll take what I can get. Tuck got kinda confused at this point.

Leaving the ring equals done work… going into the field equals happy, fun, EATING time…FullSizeRender

On our way up the field he spooked. I think at a bird. Really Tuck!?!? A bird?!?! We trotted only 4 laps. This is definitely something we need to do more of though. Up the hill (away from home) he put no effort into moving forward. Down the hill (towards home) he got super heavy on the forehand and strung-out. I’m not sure if it was him just happy to be trotting towards home (ie. supper) or if it’s a lack of fitness. Probably a bit of both but more a lack of fitness. We’ll have to do more work to strengthen up that tushy.

This entry was posted in Regularly Scheduled Program and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Weekend Recap

  1. hellomylivia says:

    Those food pics are making me drool, that sounds AMAZING. Tuck looks great! I feel your pain with the heavy on the forehand- when Addy gets tired she likes to just lean on the bit and drag me around. Bad pony.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Erin says:

      It was sooo good!
      Thanks! He was doing it again last night so maybe it’s turning into his new thing. I’ll have to talk to my coach. I don’t want this becoming a perma bad habit. Silly ponies!

      Like

  2. Karley says:

    Yay riding and good rides!!

    And sounds like fun with the bff!!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: The Story So Far ~ One Year of Blogging! | The Story So Far

Leave a Reply

