August 21 – 24 2014 Zone Classic at Palgrave

Back to 2014 show recaps.

Like the last RCRA show I wasn’t planning on going to this one either. But the points. I need all the points and the pretty ribbons.IMG_0299

The Zone Classic at Palgrave is hosted at the Caledon Pan Am Equestrian Park. As the name suggests this is where some of the equestrian events are being held for the 2015 Pan Am Games. It is a really fabulous facility and one of my favourite places to show.

Unlike Trillium at Palgrave John and I didn’t stay up there for the weekend. The Adult Armature 2’6″ Hunter Division wasn’t running until Sunday. There was also a Classic that I could enter that was also scheduled for Sunday.

Thursday: Move in day. I was running out of vacation time from work so I had a friend take care of getting Tuck there and then hack him.IMG_1337

Friday: Drive up early so I could hack in the rings. At least that was the plan. I just didn’t get there quite early enough to hack in all the rings that I wanted to. The Classic would be run in the Grand Prix Ring which we had never been in before and unfortunately didn’t make it down to in time to hack. But that’s ok there were two more mornings. The rest of the day I hung out and watched the rest of the show team compete.IMG_1269

Saturday: Got there early enough to hack in the rings again and made sure to go down to the Grand Prix Ring first. Gave Tuck a good look at the ring and its surroundings. He got a bit bug eyed but was overall good. We again hung out for the rest of the day to watch everyone show. Before we headed home I made sure that Tuck was good and clean for the next morning. I decided to not enter the Classic, mostly because I was worried Tuck would be too tired after our division and because of my nerves.IMG_1379

Sunday: Unfortunately the success that we’d been having didn’t quite carry through to this show. I rode the warm-up badly and didn’t place. But then we nailed our first round. And then quickly forgot how to ride again for the second and third courses. There were some missed distances and late leads. Oh and there may have been a spook at a golf cart that came whipping up behind the ring. Basically silly little things that made our rounds less than perfect. Nothing to terrible.IMG_1365

We ended up pinning 1st out of 16 entries for our first round (yay!) and then 8th for both our second and third round out of 15 entries (still kinda yay!) and nothing in the hack (I may or may not have been going around on the wrong posting diagonal. Whoops!).IMG_1409

This show was the final show for the Central East Zone before Championships. The top 7 riders from each division and from each zone get invited to Champs. After this show we were in 6th place. So we would be getting a pretty pink ribbon at banquet and we could go to champs.IMG_1445

Even though Zone wasn’t a stellar show for us it wasn’t the worst either. The Championships would also be held at the Caledon Pan Am Equestrian Park so I was happy to have given Tuck another look at the property, even though at this point I still wasn’t planning to go.

This entry was posted in 2014 Horse Show and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to August 21 – 24 2014 Zone Classic at Palgrave

  1. Sounds like a great show! I’m jealous of your ribbons 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. hellomylivia says:

    I’ve heard really good things about Caledon, sounds like a cool show! And that sounds like my definition of a fun weekend- getting to ride the pony for a bit, watching friends go, and spending time around the barn. Your first round sounds like it was totally baller 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: September 10 – 14 2014 Trillium Championships | The Story So Far

  4. Pingback: The Story So Far ~ One Year of Blogging! | The Story So Far

Leave a Reply

