Weekend Ride – Listen to Me!

One of these days I’m going to do some hill work with Tucker. Unfortunately since the start of boot camp 2015 there have been shows every weekend. Which means the field with the hill is used as a parking lot. IMG_0029

We’ve had to make do with arena work. The downside to that is arena work gets boring. I think Tuck was suffering from boredom on Saturday. He was throwing tantrums and making things difficult.

CHEESE!

We started out at the walk again. I got him moving off my leg and using his back-end then worked on leg yields. We struggle with this. He more than moves off my right leg. I have to make sure to take it slow and make him put straight step in so that he’s listening to what I ask and not just flying sideways. He’s less willing to move off my left leg. I have to be more forceful leg yielding left but still take it slow with the straight steps in between.

"We are not amused."

From there we moved onto the trot and worked on figures again. Can you see why he might have been getting bored. Poor boy needs to get out of the ring. Our issues with him not wanting to move off my left leg kept reappearing every time we went by the gate and he tried to bow out it.

Obligatory Tucker face

Eventually I lost my cool and started pony kicking him. Yeah he didn’t like that so much and started to buck. I told him to listen to my leg then. I’m not sure if it was the pony kicks or the talking to but after that he got a little better.IMG_0542

We finish with a few laps of canter and a few lead changes.

IMG_6194In all I rode for more than an hour. A good portion of it was trying to make him realize that he has to listen to me and not make decisions (i.e. leaving the ring) on his own. When he left the ring I made sure to not just let him walk out. So I made him walk by the gate and then turned him back to it. I’m hoping that he got the point.     IMG_0748

This entry was posted in Regularly Scheduled Program and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Weekend Ride – Listen to Me!

  1. hellomylivia says:

    Silly lazy pony! It’s tough to work around different events in the barn schedule, hope you guys get to spend some time out of the ring soon!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Sounds a lot like my ride on Sunday. Distracted ponies are not fun.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Erin says:

      The worst! I do kinda feel a little bad though. As soon as we got back to the barn he peed. I have a feeling that was causing some of his behaviour.

      Like

  3. Pingback: The Story So Far ~ One Year of Blogging! | The Story So Far

Leave a Reply

