Boot Camp Update

Tucker inadvertently got the day off on Saturday. I coached all day and then was told not to ride after his chiropractic adjustment. Not a good start to boot camp.IMG_6180

So John and I headed up to the barn first thing Sunday morning. I wasn’t sure what to expect. Would there be improvement after his adjustment, would he be ‘cured’, or would I feel those short strides forever.

Of course Tuck was turned out… in the swamp field. Damn it Tucker! It took about 20 minutes of coaxing to get him out. I cringed with every step he took. Don’t pull something, don’t unravel the work the chiropractor did and for god sake don’t pull a shoe!IMG_6155

We made it back to the barn and I hosed off all the mud. I quickly tacked up and we headed to the ring.

The reason why coach G might be seeing a little softness in Tuck is that I haven’t been pushing him. In truth I haven’t been enjoying my rides. It’s no fun when you can’t quite figure out what’s wrong and there’s difficulties to the one direction.

I was doing quick walk/trot/canter rides with mostly walk. It’s frustrating when you can’t figure out if there really is a problem (because it was presenting so inconsistently) or how to fix it.IMG_6186

So I got on. And we walked. And I asked him to come forward from behind. And he protested. Which is not concerning, it is Tucker after all, and he likes to put as little effort in as possible.

Then we picked up a trot to the left. And he felt more flowy then he has in a while. Change rein across the diagonal. He took one short step around the bend but I don’t think that he needed to. I’m pretty sure that he only thought he would need to.IMG_6189

He realized that the tightness in his SI joint was gone and didn’t put another hoof wrong.

I rode for 45 minutes, mostly at trot. We worked on figures. And I think we both started to enjoy the proper workout. He was back to his old self going on the bit and bending in both directions.

Not much of a boot camp weekend but we’ll get there. Baby steps.

This entry was posted in Boot Camp and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Boot Camp Update

  1. hellomylivia says:

    Glad that he’s feeling better! And that he’s able to start boot camp with less stiffness. AND that you’re having more enjoyable rides. All great things 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Karen M says:

    Yay for more flowy!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Lauren says:

    That’s a good start!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Courtney says:

    Sounds like happiness for both of you!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Pingback: The Story So Far ~ One Year of Blogging! | The Story So Far

Leave a Reply

