Superstitions and Habits

“Find a penny pick it up all day long you’ll have good luck.”IMG_4221

Hang a horse shoe right side up to keep the good luck from spilling out, carry a four leaf clover or a rabbit’s foot for good luck, the number 13 is unlucky, kill a spider and it’ll rain, grow a beard or don’t wash your socks and your favourite sports team is sure to win…

Superstitions are a funny thing.IMG_4086

Do I believe in them? I’m not sure. Have I made certain things habit because of them? Yep!

It all started last summer. I had a particularly good show while wearing a certain outfit. Purple tank top underneath a light purple show shirt and purple boot socks.IMG_3855

I wish I could say that it stopped there. I’ll spare you the details but there’s also a particular set of undergarments.

And then there was one day that I thought I had lost my favourite crop. Shear panic! I need that crop to do well!IMG_4078

And the purple charm that hangs in one of Tuckers braids. But not a lucky braid… that’s just crazy! It can go in any braid that’s closer to his poll.

And the routine. I need extra time to get ready in order to stay as relaxed as possible. Anything that screws with this causes anxiety. Like the time one of the girls forgot her saddle and we had to run back to the barn to get it, or the time that we had to start sooner than expected.IMG_3912

Does that outfit make me win? Is the crop lucky?

I’m not so naive as to believe that they do/are. But doing the same thing and having the routine at each show makes me feel better. If all my ducks are in a row I’m less anxious and nervous.IMG_3974

I don’t even want to think about what I’ll do when I need to start replacing items. Ugh!

I do have a new crop this year but other than that nothing changed for our first show of the year.IMG_0318

I found out yesterday that we were one point away from reserve champion. So everything is still working!

Do you have any superstitions or habits?

This entry was posted in Regularly Scheduled Program and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Superstitions and Habits

  1. hellomylivia says:

    It’s so funny, lots of very no-nonsense horsewomen I know are crazy superstitious when it comes to shows. The only thing I need for a good show is for something to go wrong before we get there. I need to sleep through my alarm, have Addy throw a shoe, have her spaz out on the lunge line, really anything. I feel like then we get it out of the way and end up having a great show!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Courtney says:

    I have no superstitions, but I like the idea, because it sets you up for the routine. I manage to forget everything important when I go places. I need to make my bridle a lucky bridle so I won’t forget it.

    Did you have a ceremony to transfer the luck from the old crop to the new crop? (I kid, I kid)

    Liked by 1 person

    • erinattssf says:

      Hahahaha!!! I should do that! But seriously the only reason I didn’t switch back to the old crop for the show was because I had already ridden with the new one for a few weeks and things have gone well. I may have a problem!!

      Like

  3. Tracy says:

    You know, for all my quirks, superstitions aren’t one of them!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: The $900 FB Pony Blog Hop – Top 5 Horse Show Essentials | The Story So Far

  5. Pingback: The Story So Far ~ One Year of Blogging! | The Story So Far

Leave a Reply

