Can of Worms Opened…

I had an entirely different post planned for today but then I watched the new this morning before heading to work and I got pissed off.IMG_3888

I’m not sure if this has become an issue where you are from but up here in Ontario there seems to be a lot of noise about what constitutes an appropriate dress code.

Specifically what’s appropriate for girls to wear to HIGH SCHOOL? Are you freaking kidding me?!?!?!IMG_4088Why is this even a discussion. I mean I can understand if you’re being told to wear a parka in the summer but that’s not the case. It’s been a long time since I’ve been in high school so admittedly I’m not up on the current dress codes at that level. But I feel it’s pretty safe to assume that they are the same… cover the shoulder, cleavage, and belly and no shorts/skirt that are too short.

That’s not unreasonable. And yet phrases like dress codes are “shaming girls” or are “perpetuating rape culture” or are causing “gender inequality” are being said screamed.IMG_3889“Our whole point is there shouldn’t be a dress code and we should be able to wear whatever makes us feel comfortable.”

What is with people’s sense of entitlement these days? I’d love to see these people become lawyers or doctors or even just a regular office worker (like me) and walk into their jobs like that. The fact of the matter is that dress codes are everywhere. And not just for girls like is being implied. From what I’ve read, dress codes don’t specify a gender. They specify what is not allowed. Guaranteed that if boys were to start wearing short shorts and crop tops, or show up without a shirt they’d be sent home too.IMG_4083

Maybe it’s just my classic hunter sensibilities but I like dress codes. They mean that I don’t have to look at slobs all day at work. Although that does sometimes happen anyway… and yes they get sent home and sometimes even docked pay.IMG_3855

Do I think dress codes need to be re-evaluated? Not really. Do I think that the reason for the dress codes need to be changed? Absolutely.

Schools keep quoting the same antiquated reasons… “it’s distracting to the boys.”

Perhaps if schools were to update their reasoning we wouldn’t be hearing about it. Perhaps instead they should be saying things like ‘we’re teaching the importance of dressing appropriately for different occasions’. Because as I said… dress codes are everywhere!

I picked you some flowers... but I ate them.

I picked you some flowers… but I ate them.

What do you think? Am I a prude?

This entry was posted in Off-topic and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Can of Worms Opened…

  1. Courtney says:

    Not at all! I was reading an article this morning, wondering about that. We had dress codes when we were in high school, although what we protested was “no spaghetti straps are allowed”. But really, these kids are in school. They can wear whatever they want outside of school.
    Just feels like they are trying to find ways to flaunt authority…

    Liked by 1 person

  2. hellomylivia says:

    AMEN. ALL OF THE YES. My teen cousin had a fit because her teacher asked her to take her hat off in class. I shudder to think what will happen when she eventually goes in for a job interview. I’m only 23 and I’m already getting crotchety about the youth of America, darn youths.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Lauren says:

    I don’t think you’re a prude, but the excuse of ‘distracting the boys’ is pretty asinine in my opinion. I went to a high school where the dress code was VERY lax, and it was never a problem.

    Liked by 1 person

    • erinattssf says:

      I fully agree. The reasoning behind the dress code should be updated. And perhaps some of the dress code (ie whats the harm in showing some shoulder). But the dress code is being questioned period. These kids are protesting its existence. Even a lax dress code is still a dress code, still a rule. If we start getting rid of rules and allow people, not just high school student, to do as they please where does it end? It seems like we’re already on a slippery slope in that regard.

      Like

  4. Karen M says:

    “distracting to the boys” … ugh. Sexist crap. I prefer school uniforms.

    Liked by 1 person

    • erinattssf says:

      I’m not sure where I stand on the school uniforms. I didn’t go to a school with them but knew people that did. Uniforms used to get just as trashy with the shortening of skirts and what not. I think it got to the point that schools got rid of the skirt and made everyone wear pants.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. L. Williams says:

    On one hand I get what you are saying but on the other I think that some of the dress code culture comes from the idea that its girls’ fault that boys are distracted by them. That’s where the shaming comes in and I don’t agree with it. I totally agree that everyone should wear clothes that fit them and are safe for a laboratory environment, wood or metal shop, art/cermamics etc. Like you wouldn’t wear flip flops to marching band that’s inappropriate. And boys shouldn’t sag their pants because lets face it, it looks stupid.

    Liked by 1 person

    • erinattssf says:

      I get what you’re saying. The reasoning that is being used is old fashion and outdated. But dress codes are for everyone not just girls. “No shoes, no shirt, no service.”

      Like

Leave a Reply

