Skills Development Hunter Jumper Schooling Show May 24 2015

The first show of the season is under our belts. And it went great!IMG_4078

You may have notice by the title that this was only a schooling show. As I mentioned in a previous post, I bought Tucker this year instead of re-leasing. So I’ve decided to stick to a tighter budget this summer and just do schooling shows. I’m also hoping to save enough pennies for a full season on the Trillium circuit next year. Fingers crossed!

So dusty!

So dusty!

I signed us up for the 2’6″-2’9″ High/Lo Hunter Division. Naturally I did the 2’6″ option because 2’9″ is terrifying to me still. Yes I know it’s only a 3 inch difference but that 3 inches looks like a whole foot to me. Maybe I’ll get there by the end of the summer. We’ll see.

Warm-up

Warm-up

I’m quite happy to report that my anxiety level stayed quite manageable all weekend. There was a brief moment that I felt jelly legged but that was only because there was a long lull between our warm up round and the start of the division. After jumping a couple fences in the warm up ring it was back to normal.

Warm-up pre water and drag

Warm-up pre water and drag

show 1&2First trip – hunter over fences. In the video my sister took (which I’m not posting because the quality is not so good) it sounds like we might have tapped the first fence. Coach G pointed out to me on Saturday that I sometimes tip forward over the fence which is probably what caused this rapped rail. IMG_3869Coming up to the outside six stride Tucker was making eyes at the woods just outside the ring. It sounded like there was someone in there breaking up branches. This resulted in a tighter spot on the in and a need to move up to make the striding. Around to the diagonal four stride. I failed to move up enough on the first few strides so the out was kinda gappy (but not terrifyingly so). We ended up getting a 5th place for this round.

There are zombies in those woods behind us.

There are ‘zombies’ in those woods behind us.

Second trip – hunter over fences. The courses started on a left rein. Trot across the diagonal pick up the right lead… wait what?!?! Tucker I said left lead!!! I’m glad I didn’t swear at him as I later realised the judge was sitting pretty close to where this oops happened. We then went on to lay down an almost flawless course. The out of the four stride was still a little long but better than the first time through. We ended up placing 2nd for this round. Yay!IMG_3974

Third trip – equitation over fences. show 3Stay to the outside of the in of the bending line, hold out, and fit the five strides in no problem. Stretch up tall through the rollback, outside leg on and outside rein to keep him on the turn and then straighten out. Perfect. Don’t build to much rhythm through the short side. Five stride line no problem. We pinned 1st in this class. YAY!

My fan club aka sister K

Our fan club aka sister K

The sounds that Tuck and I had heard in the woods during our first round were in fact from breaking branches. By the start of the flat classes the neighbours had a good size bonfire going in their backyard. Nice! Luckily no one’s horse seemed bothered by it.IMG_4221Predictably we didn’t get a ribbon for the equitation on the flat or the hack. There were too many nicer horses and prettier riders. I consider myself more of an effective rider than a pretty one. I do care about equitation it’s just not something that I work on. In my opinion to truly have good eq (and look good doing it) you need to make it more of a focus in each ride not just occasional. C’est la vie!IMG_4086

This entry was posted in 2015 Horse Show and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Skills Development Hunter Jumper Schooling Show May 24 2015

  1. Lauren says:

    Sounds like a great start to the show season! I can completely relate to that extra 3″ looking like 3′.

    Like

  2. carey says:

    Way to go! You’ll be taking those high options by the end of summer!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Superstitions and Habits | The Story So Far

  4. hellomylivia says:

    Congrats on a FANTASTIC show!! Sounds like you guys had some totally awesome rides, glad you had fun together 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. vanessajean says:

    2’6 is my goal! It looks giant to me. We have jumped 2’6 a couple times and lived to tell the tale but to get there consistently would be amazing. Congrats to you on rockin’ it 🙂

    https://adventuresofarerider.wordpress.com

    Liked by 1 person

    • Erin says:

      Thanks! Some days it looks big to me too. But I know that Tuck and I are capable. Sometimes I just have put on the big girl panties and force myself.

      Like

  6. Pingback: The Story So Far ~ One Year of Blogging! | The Story So Far

Leave a Reply

