Thursday Night Lesson – I Said Forward Damn It!

This week lessons haven’t gone so well for me. Tuesday I had a very tired horse that conked out part way through the lesson and on Thursday I had all the intentions of getting back to normal and riding him nice and forward to make the lines. And then that didn’t happen so well.

I feel all over the place like Tuckers mane

I feel all over the place like Tuckers mane

We were in the main hunter ring (jumps ranged from 2’3″-2’9″) and G had us warm up by cantering into the first of the outside line on a left rein. I picked all the way to the jump, we had zero rhythm and zero forward pace. Repeat that exact ride 3 times. Finally I got over the panic (because that’s what I was feeling) and pushed him forward.main2a

G had us change direction and jump the second of the line on a right rein. See above paragraph for how I rode it only skip the part where I eventually got my shit together and rode forward. Forward did not happen.

He then had us jump both jumps in 5 strides. Guess what… that didn’t happen. At this point I was a little more serious when I told him a quit. I dropped back to a walk and G gave me a little pep talk. He had me try the line again. “Go forward, go forward, go forward” was my mantra. And we got it done in 5 strides.

First course, right rein to quarter line, to outside purple 5 stride, to diagonal green 5 stride, to outside blue 6 stride, finish with long approach to diagonal oxer. The first two lines we added because I was busy second guessing myself and didn’t make a decision or keep riding forward for more than the first couple strides. The six stride line we had a tight distance on the in and I planned at that point to add. I realized adding wasn’t actually necessary by the 4th stride, which was too late to change the plan. G said that because I had fixed our rhythm problem by the in of that line, even though we had tight distance we could have made the 6 strides. Well crap on crackers!

I imagine that the final jump looked a little like this only cuter and higher

I imagine that the final jump looked a little like this only cuter and higher and more bascule

Second course, left rein to quarter line, to long approach to diagonal oxer, to outside purple 5 stride, to diagonal green 5 stride, finish with outside blue 6 stride. “Go forward, go forward, go forward” I chanted in my head the whole way around. It worked and it felt good. I wish I had a picture of the last jump… it was probably 2’9″ (terrifyingly high!), we hit the perfect distance to it, and he cranked up his knees so high (I know because I could see them). It would have been super cute!

G let us finish with that instead of pushing our luck with a third course. I’m not sure whether I’m happy about that or not. Tucker was really sweaty though so I was happy to finish for his sake.

This entry was posted in Lessons and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Thursday Night Lesson – I Said Forward Damn It!

  1. Tracy says:

    This is the story of my life right now! Forward is a struggle.

    Like

  2. Pingback: The Story So Far ~ One Year of Blogging! | The Story So Far

Leave a Reply

