June 29th 2014 Pickering Horse Centre Trillium

June 27th-29th 2014 was Trillium at Pickering Horse Centre. After the failure of the previous show I felt in need of redemption. And boy did we ever redeem ourselves!IMG_0093

Saturday was derby day. I was feeling way too anxious to ride so I didn’t. John and I went to watch (and photograph) the rest of the show team compete. After sitting and watching the first few rounds I started to regret not signing up. The course looked easy and fun. A few of the girls pinned… beautiful neck ribbons! = more regret and vow to sign up for the next one.

Sunday was adult amateur and jumper day. The Adult Amateur 2’6″ Hunter Division as usual ran first. The nerves were back but I was determined to prove that I didn’t suck. We had the normal screw ups in our warm up round. Long spots, chips and adds. Bad warm ups were starting to not bother me. I was starting to realize that I needed them to figure out how to ride the lines properly and to figure out my stride. I was nowhere near as upset with myself as I was at the Jokers Hill show.IMG_0090

There were 13 entries in our division and we were at the top of the order. Tucker and I rode into the ring and laid down an almost perfect round… and then a second almost perfect round. The third round was less than perfect but still a drastic improvement from the last show.IMG_0092

And then we waited.IMG_0094

And then we jogged 1st, 1st and 8th. I was beyond ecstatic.IMG_0091

And then we hacked… and didn’t pin. As we were exiting the ring L (the girl working the in gate) told me to hold up because she thought we might have got enough points for reserve or champion.

Tucker was clearly done for the day and wondering were all his cookies were for winning all the things.

Tucker was clearly done for the day and wondering were all his cookies were for winning all the things.

And we did!

This entry was posted in 2014 Horse Show and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to June 29th 2014 Pickering Horse Centre Trillium

  1. Pingback: The Story So Far ~ One Year of Blogging! | The Story So Far

Leave a Reply

